Deep Fried Shrimp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
Fabulous. Bought a pound of Artisian jumbo shrimp from Trader Joes. Read the first comment so I was a little scared. Second and third rating made me laugh so I did it. It was amazing to say the least. Fyi I just put the salt and pepper into the eggs and used rice oil. Everyone scarfed them up...including me. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2013
The recipe is a traditional Southern batter. A small amount of Old Bay helps the cause. I would suggest getting the oil fairly hot but not enough to smoke and doing small batches at a time. when you are half way through, add a bit of water to the batter or you will ruin the last batches because the batter will be too thick..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2013
From now on I will read the comments of recipes, this recipe was not good it looked good after i cooked it but batter tasted like eggs. I called my Mom and got her batter recipe she told me not to use the eggs, but use water or beer. Just the why I remmembered them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
didn't care for it - my family thought it tasted like shrimp and egg
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vinton, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2011
Added an extra 1 egg 1/2 cup more flour 1/2 tbsp of onion powder 1/2 tbsp of garlic powder 1/4 cup of milk Calculated recipe for 3 people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2011
I saw this recipe and thought it looked pretty easy to modify the way I'd need to modify it, and sure enough I was right. I only had about a pound of shrimp, so I cut the eggs and flour to a quarter. As written, I'm afraid I'd have to agree that the dish would have been far too bland for my taste, but with 1/4 the shrimp/batter, double the pepper and some cayenne and cumin it was very tasty, and easy to whip up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2011
I didn't think that it would work with flour but ended up pretty good. Added some spices like red pepper turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lease1981

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Beaumont, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
This was good but instead of using flour i used cornmeal and to my opinion the cornmeal tastes a little better
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
I tried this and yes, it was bland - I have gone back to my own recipe. I have always used Progresso Italian bread crumbs. I dip the shrimp in egg then in bread crumbs and repeat a second time for a double coating - they ALWAYS come out perfect and the Italian breadcrumbs give the shrimp perfect flavor every time. No need for any other spice not even salt and pepper. BTW - never had to worry about a grease fire. Tip for those concerned with fire - peanut oil has a LOW flash point - I use canola or vegetable oil. Try the Italian bread crumbs I think you will find that it tastes amazing - goes great with pasta, rice, etc. or just plain cocktail sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2008
i have to give this recipie 0 stars, this may be okay for those of you who dont live in the South. But where Im from we actually like FLAVOR in our food. For anyone who is actually considering using this.....please use seasoning!! your family will thank you for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Japanese-Style Deep Fried Shrimp

See how to make crispy-crunchy panko-coated fried shrimp.

Chef John’s Indoor BBQ Shrimp

Is this the easiest, most delicious shrimp recipe ever? Possibly.

How to Make Simple Garlic Shrimp

Watch as Chef John reveals the secrets to making perfect garlic shrimp.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States