Deep Fried Mushrooms Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
FABULOUS!! I made this 2x, (husb birthday dinner) second time was even better because I added a little more seasoning to the flour mixture (ie. chicken soup mix more garlic & salt). I added seltzer instead of water, but I know my mom-in-law makes it with beer instead of water. That gives it a tampura kind of taste-YUM! I also "double dipped" the mushroom: egg, flour, egg, flour- I think this gave it more crispy crunch. Trick is to serve it RIGHT AWAY! Make sure to serve it warm, or else it ruins the taste &crunch. Try it with cauliflower too. Do you know how much this costs in a resturant????!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2009
Needs additional seasoning. I used hot sauce, garlic salt, and onion salt. It helped
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2009
This recipe turned out really well. I doubled the garlic salt and made sure that the oil was really hot before I started frying the mushrooms. Very light and crispy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2009
Sorry....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
First time I made these we didn't like the batter- too mushy. So the next time we dipped the mushrooms in beat egg and the rolled them in italian breadcrumbs (already has garlic and spices added in). They turned out wonderful- crunchy and tasty. Dipped in Hidden Valley Ranch Dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
172 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tom C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2008
I don't like mushrooms so I didn't try them, but everyone else loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2008
Alls I can say is DELICIOUS.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by **Trinity**

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2008
We loved, Loved, LOVED these. This is a favorite of ours when we go out to restaurants and I really am glad that I "finally" found a recipe that is what we order out. Definate keeper. Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2008
These got really soggy by the time they drained and cooled down enough to eat. I added salt and cayenne to the batter but they still were bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2008
Good, but does need more spice. Also used a deep fryer and fried until brown and crisp. Here is a dip I made: 1/4 cup mayo, 1 tblsp each lemon juice, horseradish, milk to desired consistency. Similar to dips we have tasted served with this dish. Will make this again with some cayenne and more garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Japanese-Style Deep Fried Shrimp

See how to make crispy-crunchy panko-coated fried shrimp.

Fried Mozzarella Cheese Sticks

See how to make super-simple cheesy mozzarella sticks!

Crab Stuffed Mushrooms

Baked mushrooms are stuffed with seasoned crabmeat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States