Deep Fried Mushrooms Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2013
this was very good. I am allergic to wheat, so I used sorghum flour instead. I also used egg replacer instead of real egg. I do think it needs a lot more flavor. Next time I will add all kinds of herbs to it, and more garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Joanne
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2013
Great recipe, we loved the mushrooms, served with my homemade Garlic/Ranch dressing.I added baking powder to my flour plus 1/2 cup of milk with lemon juice (like buttermilk) 1/2 water. Paprika ! thumbs up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joanne

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Gold Canyon, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2013
Everyone loved them ^_^
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becky

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2013
After I dipped them in a spiced up batter I dipped them in panko, much crunchier :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MamaBootybear

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Bremerton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2013
I tried a variation of this recipe tonight. I cut small white mushrooms in 4, dipped them in 2 beaten eggs, coated them lightly with cornstarch garlic powder salt mixture, fried them in corn oil. They turned out good! I fried them for a while until they turned slightly golden removed from oil and removed excess oil with papertowel. My dipping sauce was Marzetti brand, Southwest Ranch. Very good combination. I have tried other batters but I had made this batter the night before for general tao and thought it would work well for these mushrooms. I will try italian breadcrumbs next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AuntE
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2012
Nice way to use up mushrooms. Easy recipe and perfect browing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AuntE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Lyme, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Lebanon, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2012
I had some baby portebella mushrooms to use & found this batter. I did change it slightly & used beer instead of water. The carbonation made the batter especially light. One could also use seltzer water for the same end result. Since the batter was more than needed for the mushrooms, I sliced some Vidalia onions & used it up. It was bar food at home. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
This recipe is a fantastic base for making fried mushrooms. I had never fried any before, and I am now thrilled that I have the power to make such a tasty snack. I made some changes to the recipe to suit my liking. I replaced the water with beer, doubled the garlic salt, and I added onion salt, paprika and lemon pepper seasoning. I also used a deep fryer and had no problems with soggy batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by vhf
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
very good, but don't use an electric mixer, or you will have to add more eggs and flour
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
This is a wonderful recipe! I tried this today. Both my boyfriend and I enjoyed it very much! Thank you for sharing! It really brings out the mushroom flavor. The only reason I gave it four stars instead of five is that it doesn't come out crispy. I added a bit more salt, too, because I'm a salt fiend. Overall, a wonderful taste. I don't want to change the recipe to get the crisp into the batter for fear of changing the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Coma Reynolds

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dupo, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Japanese-Style Deep Fried Shrimp

See how to make crispy-crunchy panko-coated fried shrimp.

Fried Mozzarella Cheese Sticks

See how to make super-simple cheesy mozzarella sticks!

Crab Stuffed Mushrooms

Baked mushrooms are stuffed with seasoned crabmeat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States