Deep Fried Jalapeno Slices Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
These were the hit of the party! We made both slices and strips. The batter was a little bland but we just salted the jalapenos when they came out of the deep fryer. I will definately be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2009
Anything spicy is good to me. I used Pam instead of dousing in oil and they turned out great! (I like things healthier)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lovemywine
Home Town: San Clemente, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2009
Pretty good. Batter was a bit bland but a very nice snack and good use of an abundance of jalapenos. Definitely sprinkle with salt hot out of the grease - it helped the flavor a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen Wagner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2009
Hmmm.... This didn't work for me (sorry!). Something was missing. For one, the bater was waay too "airy" (but I guess that's OK if you prefer your batter this way) and flavorless. I expected some spiciness, especially since chilli powder and ground black pepepr were the 2 main components of the batter. I guess my fiance and I are just hooked on the "bottle caps" we had at our local BBQ hangout. Unfortunately, they closed several months ago. I think one of my main problems with these was the fact that I cut my jalapenos too thick (my fault!). My fiance mentioned that the jalapeno slices we had at our favorite restaurant were thinly sliced and that most of the seeds were removed (I didn't remove any of the seeds from mine lol...). We also think theirs were double dipped to make them crispier. My fiance ended up salvaging the leftover batter by making onion rings instead. We enjoyed those much more. The bronco burgers we made to accompany our jalapeno slices were also not too great (a real bummer since both seemed to go well toghther!!!). Thanks for sharing your idea anyways, Micah :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: May 30, 2009
This recipe is awesome! My husband and I couldn't quit eating them....yum! It was very quick and easy to make too. I'll definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jo Adams

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2009
I'd give this ten stars if I could. The only regret is I could have easily used more peppers, as I still had plenty of batter left over. I'll be making this again very soon, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Clark G
Home Town: Tyler, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2009
Tried these for the first time yesterday and loved em!! Nice easy batter. I cooked them longer than the recipe said (they floated up almost immediately but needed a bit more time to get crisp). I wanna try a tempura batter next! (see KoreanMom's review below)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by El's Kitchen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2009
I have a potluck coming up and i decided to test out this recipe. my boyfriend and i could not stop eating them! they were so delicious. I will definitely make this again. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Denton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2009
This was definitely a great recipe! I left the seeds in some of them and took some out. It definitely kicked my taste buds when I ate one with seeds! But if you love spice this is definitely something to try! LOVE IT!!! Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2009
These are fabulous!!!! I was a little leery because I was thinking fried peppers just sounded weird but they are absolutely delicious. Served with a little ranch for dipping or just by themselves, if you like spicy you WON'T be disappointed!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHICgirl09

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Kankakee, Illinois, USA
Living In: Waterman, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 120) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Japanese-Style Deep Fried Shrimp

See how to make crispy-crunchy panko-coated fried shrimp.

Chef John’s Fried Padrón Peppers

See how incredibly easy it is to make these tasty blistered peppers.

Jalapeno and Cucumber Margarita

Spicy & refreshing, this amazing marg’s infused with hot pepper & cool cucumber.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States