Deep Fried Jalapeno Slices Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Photo by yadikeith
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2010
I thought they were ok. I started off making this exactly as posted but as I cooked them I added more to the recipe because my husband and I felt there was something missing. I added more salt, garlic powder, I even added some corn meal and Panko breadcrumbs but it was still missing something. I will make this again so I can get it right but I think next time I'll use pickled jalapenos instead as seeing other reviewers seemed to like it that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by yadikeith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2010
Like another reviewer, I opted for the pickled slices and drained them well and blotted them with a paper towel. Rather than individually fry them, I plopped them all in the batter and picked up three or four pieces, shaking of excess batter and frying them in a group. These turned out perfect! The beer batter is just right, not to heavy, not too puffy. This is a keeper. I'll probably use it for fried pickles, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Iwakuni, Yamaguchi, Japan
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2010
Really good! One of my favorite appitizers at Chili's is the fried onion strings and jalapenos and I was looking to replicate that. Fresh jalapenos are so expensive at the store right now, so I opted to use the jarred ones. They came out great, but the pepper was a little softer than I would have liked. They still tasted awesome, though, and I can't wait to try this with fresh jalapenos because I know they are going to be AMAZING! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
Made these to go with bacon wrapped deep fried hot dogs. They were wonderful even shared the recipe with my guests. I didnt have beer and used water instead and they still came out great. Next time I will use the beer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Burrows

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Photo by I Eat like a Goat
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
Overall these were good not great. The batter is pretty good. I had to fry mine at a higher temperature and a good deal longer, about 8 minutes. Otherwise the batter comes out doughy instead of crisp. Perhaps if I would have cut them into thinner slices it would have been better. Be sure to seed your peppers if you don't want them super hot. I ate about 25 of them last night and I'm regretting it today, big time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by I Eat like a Goat

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Champaign, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2010
These are always gobbled up seconds after they're made. A bit hit at parties and easy to do. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aimee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2010
the batter is excellent ! We make what are called texas toothpicks . which are sweet onions and japs cut into thin slices and deep fried. This is my new batter recipe :) thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by christine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
Added shredded cheese (a mixture of sharp cheddar and pepper jack) to the batter. Offered topping/dipping choices of sour cream, bleu cheese dressing and ranch dressing. Insanely, ridiculously, addictively delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rarehorses

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
soooo good. we use the same batter for onion rings YUM YUM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Frank-n-Leslie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
where i grew up this is called mexican okra and the breading is 3 parts cornmeal to 1 part flour. theyre made alot like fried squash and onions fried along side them are good too. i made a variation of this ( sorry i hate it too when someone changes the recipe ) try the guilt free ranch dip on allrecipes with it thats what i had on hand and it was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by soupisgoodfood33

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 122) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Japanese-Style Deep Fried Shrimp

See how to make crispy-crunchy panko-coated fried shrimp.

Chef John’s Fried Padrón Peppers

See how incredibly easy it is to make these tasty blistered peppers.

Bacon-Wrapped Jalapeno Poppers

Creamy, cheesy, spicy bite-size party appetizers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States