Deep Fried Jalapeno Slices Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2010
Really good! One of my favorite appitizers at Chili's is the fried onion strings and jalapenos and I was looking to replicate that. Fresh jalapenos are so expensive at the store right now, so I opted to use the jarred ones. They came out great, but the pepper was a little softer than I would have liked. They still tasted awesome, though, and I can't wait to try this with fresh jalapenos because I know they are going to be AMAZING! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
Made these to go with bacon wrapped deep fried hot dogs. They were wonderful even shared the recipe with my guests. I didnt have beer and used water instead and they still came out great. Next time I will use the beer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Combat Medic

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Photo by I Eat like a Goat
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
Overall these were good not great. The batter is pretty good. I had to fry mine at a higher temperature and a good deal longer, about 8 minutes. Otherwise the batter comes out doughy instead of crisp. Perhaps if I would have cut them into thinner slices it would have been better. Be sure to seed your peppers if you don't want them super hot. I ate about 25 of them last night and I'm regretting it today, big time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by I Eat like a Goat

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Champaign, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2010
These are always gobbled up seconds after they're made. A bit hit at parties and easy to do. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aimee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2010
the batter is excellent ! We make what are called texas toothpicks . which are sweet onions and japs cut into thin slices and deep fried. This is my new batter recipe :) thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by christine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
Added shredded cheese (a mixture of sharp cheddar and pepper jack) to the batter. Offered topping/dipping choices of sour cream, bleu cheese dressing and ranch dressing. Insanely, ridiculously, addictively delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rarehorses

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
soooo good. we use the same batter for onion rings YUM YUM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Frank-n-Leslie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
where i grew up this is called mexican okra and the breading is 3 parts cornmeal to 1 part flour. theyre made alot like fried squash and onions fried along side them are good too. i made a variation of this ( sorry i hate it too when someone changes the recipe ) try the guilt free ranch dip on allrecipes with it thats what i had on hand and it was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by soupisgoodfood33

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2009
The breading was a bit more like a tempura, it puffed up alot for me. I used less beer, as others suggested, and it still was quite thin and didn't stick well to the jalapenos. This is a good jumping off point - I will definitely seed the jalapenos next times, and use even less beer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by waxing witch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Lindenhurst, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2009
Only change i made was to cut tops off seed with potato peeler and stuff with cookie press otherwise SUPER Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Skip

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Doctors Inlet, Florida, USA
Living In: Duisburg, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany

Displaying results 51-60 (of 120) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Japanese-Style Deep Fried Shrimp

See how to make crispy-crunchy panko-coated fried shrimp.

Chef John’s Fried Padrón Peppers

See how incredibly easy it is to make these tasty blistered peppers.

Jalapeno and Cucumber Margarita

Spicy & refreshing, this amazing marg’s infused with hot pepper & cool cucumber.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States