Deep Fried Jalapeno Slices Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
These were awesome!! Hubby was eating them faster than I could make them. Word to the weak - they are spicy! We served with salsa con queso dip. I used the leftover batter & fried up some green beans & broccoli. Delicious!! Because we cooked them after the jalapenos, the oil picked up a spicy flavor that carried over to the other veggies. Not sure why other reviewers were saying this was too runny of a batter, I thought it was perfect as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2011
I'm giving this 5 stars only because I adapted the recipe, and I wanted to be nice to the person who posted this recipe. That said: We don't drink beer, so I used apple juice instead, but otherwise followed the recipe. They weren't great, but after reading other reviews, I think it was the recipe, not my change. They were kind of soggy. I had to add more flour to get the batter to stick at all. I did two methods of cutting the jalopenos. The first batch, I cut out all the seeds. These were not very hot. The second batch I left the seeds in, and they were so hot we could hardly eat them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zonya Gingrich

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
Get em good and dry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2011
Followed recipe exact and the batter was way too thin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
awesome recipe, I put on top of homemade mac n cheese with kielbasa. Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
Great idea but the batter was too runny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
I was out of beer, so I just dropped a handful of jalapeno slices (drained, from a jar) into egg and water. In a separate container, I shook them up in the flour and seasonings, then pan-fried till golden brown and crispy. We like to put them on burgers, in breakfast burritos, and regular burritos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2011
These were AWESOME! I made them for a snack for me and my husband and we both loved them! I agree with another reviewer...only use 1/2 cup of beer. 1 cup makes the batter way too runny. I used about 3/4 cup. Other than that these turned out great. I passed the recipe to all my friends and will definitely be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2011
Can we give 10 stars? These were so good! The batter is thin, but I think it couls do more than 2 cups. Also, I used 1 c ginger ale because I don't drink so don't have beer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
great recipe. a restaraunt near us serves this with cheddar cheese melted under a broiler over the japalenos and with a side or ranch dressing, its worth going there just for the japalenos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 121) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Japanese-Style Deep Fried Shrimp

See how to make crispy-crunchy panko-coated fried shrimp.

Chef John’s Fried Padrón Peppers

See how incredibly easy it is to make these tasty blistered peppers.

Jalapeno and Cucumber Margarita

Spicy & refreshing, this amazing marg’s infused with hot pepper & cool cucumber.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States