Deep Fried Jalapeno Slices Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2011
I'm giving this 5 stars only because I adapted the recipe, and I wanted to be nice to the person who posted this recipe. That said: We don't drink beer, so I used apple juice instead, but otherwise followed the recipe. They weren't great, but after reading other reviews, I think it was the recipe, not my change. They were kind of soggy. I had to add more flour to get the batter to stick at all. I did two methods of cutting the jalopenos. The first batch, I cut out all the seeds. These were not very hot. The second batch I left the seeds in, and they were so hot we could hardly eat them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zonya Gingrich

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
Get em good and dry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2011
Followed recipe exact and the batter was way too thin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
awesome recipe, I put on top of homemade mac n cheese with kielbasa. Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
Great idea but the batter was too runny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
I was out of beer, so I just dropped a handful of jalapeno slices (drained, from a jar) into egg and water. In a separate container, I shook them up in the flour and seasonings, then pan-fried till golden brown and crispy. We like to put them on burgers, in breakfast burritos, and regular burritos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2011
These were AWESOME! I made them for a snack for me and my husband and we both loved them! I agree with another reviewer...only use 1/2 cup of beer. 1 cup makes the batter way too runny. I used about 3/4 cup. Other than that these turned out great. I passed the recipe to all my friends and will definitely be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2011
Can we give 10 stars? These were so good! The batter is thin, but I think it couls do more than 2 cups. Also, I used 1 c ginger ale because I don't drink so don't have beer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
great recipe. a restaraunt near us serves this with cheddar cheese melted under a broiler over the japalenos and with a side or ranch dressing, its worth going there just for the japalenos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
Have made these 4-5 times. I use season salt and add extra chili powder, both ancho and chipolte. These are soo good. We have only dipped them in sour creme, but they are tasty all alone. Also use the batter for fish. ENJOY!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Toni Jo Fire Eating Pro

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prineville, Oregon, USA
Living In: Grants Pass, Oregon, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 120) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Japanese-Style Deep Fried Shrimp

See how to make crispy-crunchy panko-coated fried shrimp.

Chef John’s Fried Padrón Peppers

See how incredibly easy it is to make these tasty blistered peppers.

Jalapeno and Cucumber Margarita

Spicy & refreshing, this amazing marg’s infused with hot pepper & cool cucumber.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States