Deep Fried French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2015
YUM! I didn't use french bread. Regular sliced bread worked fine. I did add vanilla and cinnamon into the mixture and sprinkled powdered sugar on the final product. Fried 2 min on each side of the bread. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Theresa Grantland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2015
I'll never be the type of person to complain about how a recipe turned out, if I fudged with/modified the original recipe while making it. I've made this exact recipe twice, and it was okay... (Hence the 3-stars.) However, the past few times I've made deep fried French Toast, I've modified this recipe into what I think is a 5-star-worthy dish! Here's what I do, now: 1 cup of flour. 1-1/2 teaspoon of baking powder. 1/4 cup of white sugar. 1/2 teaspoon of kosher salt. 1 teaspoon of cinnamon. 1 teaspoon of nutmeg. 2 eggs. 1 cup of milk. 2 teaspoons of vanilla extract. -Preheat deep-fryer to 375. *(I've only ever used corn oil for these, but I imagine canola/veggie/peanut oils would work just fine. Also, I would highly recommend a deep-fryer, instead of a skillet, so as to make sure the slices are evenly fried, and to maintain a perfect 375 degrees. But again, I imagine that this recipe would turn out fine, if all you have is a pan/skillet.) -Mix all dry ingredients, whisk in the wet, then pour into a casserole dish. -Dip your bread slices on both sides. *(Make sure to use a spatula, instead of tongs, so as not to rip the bread. *I've made this recipe with both white bread, and Challah slices. They both = superb, but Challah is my fave. -Place into the oil, 2-3 slices at a time. They float immediately, so cook on both sides until nice and brown. -Finish with sifted powdered sugar, and a few more dashes of cinnammon. -Don't forget the bacon! Happy eating!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2014
Turned out amazing and will absolutely make again. I make a couple of minor changes. I halved the recipe and used Arnold country white bread and added 1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract to the batter. I also lightly sprinkled the finished slices with sugar and cinnamon. The unused slices I wrapped in plastic wrap and froze. When I was in the mood for more I just popped a slice in the toaster oven and heated. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2014
Not worth the calories or the clean up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
This recipe was delicious!! I used "VanDeKamp French Toast Bread" it is perfectly thick for this recipe. I cut the toast into thirds and made french toast sticks. it was easier to flip over in the hot oil as well also kids love this finger food delight!! Two thumbs up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alisted1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Monica, California, USA
Living In: San Juan Capistrano, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2013
First time I've fried toast! I cut the bread into stick-like shapes before I dipped them into the batter, and made them into french toast fingers. They were pretty darn good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2013
I am a HUGE fan of French toast, and honestly, this recipe is different for me, because I have NEVER tried French toast that was deep fried! I tweaked the recipe a little by adding cinnamon, vanilla extract and sugar for a much added sweetness. Since I didn't have any French bread available, I used regular whole wheat bread, and it is SO good!! I would eat the deep fried French toast for dessert, instead of having it for breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by msdramaqueen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2013
It's actually really good when you mix this recipe with the fluffy french toast recipe that adds 1/4 cup of all purpose flour to the mixture. I increased the milk to 1 1/2 cups, 1 tsp of ground cinnamon, 2 tsp of vanilla extract and used brown sugar instead of white. It was absolutely amazing because of the flour mixture and deep frying put it over the top. The southerner in me felt completely satisfied. Also I used the butter pecan syrup from ihop instead of regular maple syrup...talk about mouth explosion WOW! I will use this recipe everytime!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2013
Totally unhealthy, but really delicious! I added cinnamon to the egg mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahStumphf

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middletown, New York, USA
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2012
I wanted my egg "wash" to be a little thicker so I cut the milk back to a cup and a half. That makes it 1/4 cup per egg. I also added two teaspoons of vanilla and a good amount ground cinnamon--that's what I add to all of my french toast recipes. This is seriously like french toast on crack. I used my cast iron skillet to deep fry these and it worked out fabulously. I served these with hot maple syrup. The family thought this was THE BEST french toast they've ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fluffy French Toast

See how to make wonderfully light and fluffy French toast.

How to Make French Toast

See how to make French toast—and which bread makes the best.

Baked French Toast

This baked French toast casserole is so tasty, and easy to assemble.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States