Deep Fried Dill Pickles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2005
i only gave this three stars, because i do not believe sliced pickles should ever be used (they absorb too much oil), and rolling in flour after dipping in such a thin batter may have tasted ok, but it the finished result just LOOKED unappetizing. but it could very easily have five... here is how i turned a 3 star recipe into a 5 star treat. 1. Use pickle SPEARS instead of slices. they stay crisper. 2. Leave out the cornmeal. 3. instead of saving most of the flour to dredge in, dump ALL ingredients into a bowl and wisk to make a smooth, THICK batter. 4. dip pickle spears into batter, drop into hot oil, fry to golden brown. 5. drain on paper toweling. 6. try dipping in thousand island instead of ranch, YUMMY! for the record, i used regular milk instead of buttermilk, i eyeballed the ingredients instead of measuring them, and i increased the hot pepper sauce a bit to compensate for being out of cayenne pepper. i tested this recipe out so i could decide whether or not to bring it as a side dish to a BBQ later tonight... i'm on my way back to the store now to buy two more jars of pickles!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
304 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2002
I've been a fan of these wonderful fried pickles since I serve these at a resturant in Murrells Inlet, SC 17 years ago. I love them best dipped in Dill Dip instead of other salad dressings. I also used flour instead of corn meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
112 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lemon jar

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hickory, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Mims, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2001
I tried it, I liked it. I tried it again, I loved it. Use a good quality pickle (the first time was using cheap-o pickles) makes all the difference. I love it with a ranch dip and not blue cheese dip(too much)! Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
92 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2003
I have a recipe that I used for years, but I decided to try this one. I'm glad I did. Although, I omit the the spicy ingredients, to make it more kid friendly. I use white vinegar in place of the hot sauce! I've even added a little bit more worchestershire sauce, and I think that it makes it just a little bit better! Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PANDABEAR01

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2001
YUMMMMM! I had these at a restaurant and loved them. When I made them, they were just as good. I used the whole chill dills you find in the deli case and cut them into circles. These pickles will stay crisp and not go limp. I'm taking them to my next family get together!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2002
Sorry, no one in my family cared for this recipe. The pickles turned a little soggy and the dill pickle flavoring is really overwhelming. I would not add salt afterwards as there is plenty in the pickle already.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BABSKITCHEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2002
Went to a restaraunt a week ago and had these for the first time. Tried this recipe at home and thought it was great. I did double dip the recipe to get the batter thicker, maybe because I used homemade pickles. TRY THEM, YOU WILL BE HOOKED!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2001
These sound so weird, but taste so wonderful! I cook them all the time and make all my friends try them. They're such a hit!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2003
This reciepe really hit the spot. My fiance and I fell in love with fried pickles two years ago and this was my first attempt to make them at home. Great recipe! Even better with Ken's Steakhouse Ranch Dressing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENNIEL73

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2003
These are GREAT. I just loved them. If you love pickles and fried foods these are a must to try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 151) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Deep-Fried Dill Pickles

Batter up your dills, and fry them to a deliciously crispy, golden-brown.

How to Make Fried Pickles

These tasty fried appetizers are a Southern favorite—and so easy to make!

Japanese-Style Deep Fried Shrimp

See how to make crispy-crunchy panko-coated fried shrimp.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States