Deep Fried Dill Pickles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2009
These were awesome. I used the bread and butter pickles I had in the house and OMG so I had to run to the store to try it with dill (these are our favorite type)and these were awesome as well. The reason for the 4-stars is that the batter kept falling off. I tried mixing it everything together and it made the batter stay on better. I will definitely make these again. Thanks for sharing! **REVISION** I made these again and they turned out even better. This time, I took the pickles out of the juice and let them hang out in a bowl before going into the egg mixture. I left them soak in the egg mixture for about 10 secs then put in the flour mixture and covered them completely then placed them to the side on wax paper for a few minutes before frying. This made all the difference, the batter stayed on and they came out looking better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA
Living In: Limaville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2009
We did not care for these. We expected the type of fried pickles we get at the fair. This recipe is more "cakey" and we are looking for a more "tempura" type battered fried pickle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Walkersville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Frederick, Maryland, USA
Photo by Pam-3BoysMama
Reviewed: May 17, 2009
These were pretty good, but the batter needs to be a little thicker. Next time I will probably double the flour in the batter mixture. I added cayenne to the flour/cornmeal mixture, but will add even more next time. I used pickle spears on thin skewers to make it interesting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2009
I added a few modifications (seasoned up the flour with adobo, black pepper & paprika), so I can't TRULY rate the original, BUT these were a huge hit, so thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2009
I had this at a friend's house on Sunday and then made it for my family last night. What a HUGE hit! The breading stuck (which is always an issue for me) and we are going to adapt it with other veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cobble Hill, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2009
Tastes Great. Awesome Recipe. Have made this numerous times and everyone loves it. I'd recommend using Kosher Hamburger Dill Chips and they seem to come out the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2009
I've been making fried pickles for many years. I love that they are now offered at many restaurants as appetizers. I could only give this recipe 3 stars because I didn't like the cornmeal at all! The recipe I used to use and will go back to again, uses a simple onion ring batter and sliced pickles. They are delicious and you really don't need a dip for them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DBRENNY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Moline, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2009
these are also great dipped in some whipped cream cheese
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2009
Finally! There is a local pub nearby that serves these and I have been trying to duplicate the recipe. This is spot on! I've made it both with spears and slices. I like to dip these in a little wasabi ranch sauce for a kick. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2008
I'm not one for giving bad reviews, but this one did not impress us. We really didn't like the cornmeal in the batter, the cornmeal was like sand in the batter, just little hard crunchy pieces. I did not use the hot sauce, and used chili powder in place of cayenne, and honestly couldn't taste the seasonings at all. I think with the seasonings being in the egg/milk mix that very little of the seasonings attaches to the pickle. We were trying to re-create a recipe from a restaurant and this was not it. We will keep looking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by goosegreetings

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 152) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Deep-Fried Dill Pickles

Batter up your dills, and fry them to a deliciously crispy, golden-brown.

How to Make Fried Pickles

These tasty fried appetizers are a Southern favorite—and so easy to make!

Japanese-Style Deep Fried Shrimp

See how to make crispy-crunchy panko-coated fried shrimp.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States