Deep Fried Dill Pickles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: May 19, 2010
Really great batter! I have been searching for a good recipe that would taste like the ones I get at the restaurants and here it is! The only two things I changed were: I omitted the cayenne pepper because I didn't have any on hand and I used regular milk instead of buttermilk. They turned out really good! I will definitely make again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRE8JSE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 12, 2010
These are really good. My kids love pickles and we saw these on a menu at a restaurant and wanted to try to make them ourselves. Thanks we will be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CNM CATERING

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edgewater Park, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: May 10, 2010
wonderful, better than what they serve in resteraunts
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
These were amazing. So amazing I ate the entire batch myself. I omitted the cornemal and the spicey stuff but kept everything else the same. off the charts good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Claus, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fortville, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2010
Would add 1/3 the amount of cornmeal next time, more cayenne pepper and then it would be perfect. Otherwise, a pretty good start.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
Best ever ! What I did to make it taste as the restaurant= omit cornmeal ( don't subsitute, just omit ) add a tiny bit more worcestershire sauce and subsitute the pepper sauce with cayanne ( if you want this is what I did ) I used milk buttermilk may work, will try next time =-) And what really helps and i repeat DO NOT USE THE SPEARS, DO NOT USE THE SPEARS this will only taste like a hot pickle and the breading doesn't really stick well. Yuck I say, Chips ( pickle ) work better even though every review contradicts me, but that is what they have used in restaurants and they are more bite sized. Yum yum with xtra seasonings ( w. sauce and c.pepper ) excellent !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2010
these pickles are even better then the ones at the resturant. i always half the wet ingred cuz we always have way to much, its a waste. half the wet ingred is plenty the dry ingred measurements are right on. we have made them with claussen pickles and cheap pickles always always always use with the expensive ones. way worth the extra $. my husband and i are both salt addicts never add any at the end of cooking. way toooo much salt. i always serve my pickles with homemade ranch. thanks for the keeper. these are so yummy and very addicting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by millertime

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
This was pretty yummy. I actually used pickle spears rather than slices. I felt the batter was a bit corn meal-y and could have been a bit thicker. But overall good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MTCHYG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montrose, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
Out of this world recipe. For those who are turned off by the thought of a pickle fried, you need to try this anyway. I added a lil dill weed to my batter but kept everything the same. It's crispy, sweet, savory, salty its everything, also it's not too hot and is simply AMAZING!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamie Payne

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bradford, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Port Allegany, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
My husband loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 156) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Deep-Fried Dill Pickles

Batter up your dills, and fry them to a deliciously crispy, golden-brown.

How to Make Fried Pickles

These tasty fried appetizers are a Southern favorite—and so easy to make!

Japanese-Style Deep Fried Shrimp

See how to make crispy-crunchy panko-coated fried shrimp.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States