Deep Fried Dill Pickles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
My hubby is a fan of deep fried pickles. This recipe...he loves! This is the only recipe we use for deep frying. Everything else is off limits due to health reasons. So, this is just the treat! I highly recommend this recipe. Use it, change it up, do what you need to. This is a staple recipe in our home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LOR9
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2009
I've been looking for an amazing recipe for fried pickles, and this is definitely one of my top picks. When I made this recipe, I did a couple minor adjustments. First, I omitted the corn meal and combined the wet and dry ingredients to make a batter, rather than dredging the pickles in the flour, for a more even coating. Second, I used pickle spears, because pickle slices tend to get incredibly greasy. If you are going to do a batter, make sure to roll the pickles in a paper towel first to dry them off, to make sure the batter sticks. Also, depending on the moisture in the air, you may want to add additional milk to thin out the batter slightly, so you don't end up with a really thick, rubbery crust. Other than those two changes, I followed the recipe, and the results were out of this world!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mike
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2009
This is a very good (basic) recipe. I call it "basic" because it provides the most flexibility of any I found for customizing. For example, I made it with my daughter, and being 10, she would not have wanted hot and spicy pickles. So we omitted the spicier ingredients and decreased the black pepper from 3/4 tsp to 1/4 tsp. We made it together and the result was WONDERFUL! I'm including a pic of our final result. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mike

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pasadena, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2009
These were awesome. I used the bread and butter pickles I had in the house and OMG so I had to run to the store to try it with dill (these are our favorite type)and these were awesome as well. The reason for the 4-stars is that the batter kept falling off. I tried mixing it everything together and it made the batter stay on better. I will definitely make these again. Thanks for sharing! **REVISION** I made these again and they turned out even better. This time, I took the pickles out of the juice and let them hang out in a bowl before going into the egg mixture. I left them soak in the egg mixture for about 10 secs then put in the flour mixture and covered them completely then placed them to the side on wax paper for a few minutes before frying. This made all the difference, the batter stayed on and they came out looking better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA
Living In: Limaville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2009
We did not care for these. We expected the type of fried pickles we get at the fair. This recipe is more "cakey" and we are looking for a more "tempura" type battered fried pickle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Walkersville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Frederick, Maryland, USA
Photo by Pam-3BoysMama
Reviewed: May 17, 2009
These were pretty good, but the batter needs to be a little thicker. Next time I will probably double the flour in the batter mixture. I added cayenne to the flour/cornmeal mixture, but will add even more next time. I used pickle spears on thin skewers to make it interesting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2009
I added a few modifications (seasoned up the flour with adobo, black pepper & paprika), so I can't TRULY rate the original, BUT these were a huge hit, so thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2009
I had this at a friend's house on Sunday and then made it for my family last night. What a HUGE hit! The breading stuck (which is always an issue for me) and we are going to adapt it with other veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cobble Hill, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2009
Tastes Great. Awesome Recipe. Have made this numerous times and everyone loves it. I'd recommend using Kosher Hamburger Dill Chips and they seem to come out the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2009
I've been making fried pickles for many years. I love that they are now offered at many restaurants as appetizers. I could only give this recipe 3 stars because I didn't like the cornmeal at all! The recipe I used to use and will go back to again, uses a simple onion ring batter and sliced pickles. They are delicious and you really don't need a dip for them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DBRENNY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Moline, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 155) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Deep-Fried Dill Pickles

Batter up your dills, and fry them to a deliciously crispy, golden-brown.

How to Make Fried Pickles

These tasty fried appetizers are a Southern favorite—and so easy to make!

Japanese-Style Deep Fried Shrimp

See how to make crispy-crunchy panko-coated fried shrimp.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States