Deep Fried Dill Pickles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
Out of this world recipe. For those who are turned off by the thought of a pickle fried, you need to try this anyway. I added a lil dill weed to my batter but kept everything the same. It's crispy, sweet, savory, salty its everything, also it's not too hot and is simply AMAZING!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamie Payne

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bradford, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Port Allegany, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
My husband loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
OMG! These are awesome. I didn't change a thing. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
My hubby is a fan of deep fried pickles. This recipe...he loves! This is the only recipe we use for deep frying. Everything else is off limits due to health reasons. So, this is just the treat! I highly recommend this recipe. Use it, change it up, do what you need to. This is a staple recipe in our home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LOR9
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2009
I've been looking for an amazing recipe for fried pickles, and this is definitely one of my top picks. When I made this recipe, I did a couple minor adjustments. First, I omitted the corn meal and combined the wet and dry ingredients to make a batter, rather than dredging the pickles in the flour, for a more even coating. Second, I used pickle spears, because pickle slices tend to get incredibly greasy. If you are going to do a batter, make sure to roll the pickles in a paper towel first to dry them off, to make sure the batter sticks. Also, depending on the moisture in the air, you may want to add additional milk to thin out the batter slightly, so you don't end up with a really thick, rubbery crust. Other than those two changes, I followed the recipe, and the results were out of this world!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mike
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2009
This is a very good (basic) recipe. I call it "basic" because it provides the most flexibility of any I found for customizing. For example, I made it with my daughter, and being 10, she would not have wanted hot and spicy pickles. So we omitted the spicier ingredients and decreased the black pepper from 3/4 tsp to 1/4 tsp. We made it together and the result was WONDERFUL! I'm including a pic of our final result. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mike

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pasadena, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2009
These were awesome. I used the bread and butter pickles I had in the house and OMG so I had to run to the store to try it with dill (these are our favorite type)and these were awesome as well. The reason for the 4-stars is that the batter kept falling off. I tried mixing it everything together and it made the batter stay on better. I will definitely make these again. Thanks for sharing! **REVISION** I made these again and they turned out even better. This time, I took the pickles out of the juice and let them hang out in a bowl before going into the egg mixture. I left them soak in the egg mixture for about 10 secs then put in the flour mixture and covered them completely then placed them to the side on wax paper for a few minutes before frying. This made all the difference, the batter stayed on and they came out looking better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA
Living In: Limaville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2009
We did not care for these. We expected the type of fried pickles we get at the fair. This recipe is more "cakey" and we are looking for a more "tempura" type battered fried pickle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Walkersville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Frederick, Maryland, USA
Photo by Pam Ziegler Lutz
Reviewed: May 17, 2009
These were pretty good, but the batter needs to be a little thicker. Next time I will probably double the flour in the batter mixture. I added cayenne to the flour/cornmeal mixture, but will add even more next time. I used pickle spears on thin skewers to make it interesting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam Ziegler Lutz

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2009
I added a few modifications (seasoned up the flour with adobo, black pepper & paprika), so I can't TRULY rate the original, BUT these were a huge hit, so thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 158) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Deep-Fried Dill Pickles

Batter up your dills, and fry them to a deliciously crispy, golden-brown.

How to Make Fried Pickles

These tasty fried appetizers are a Southern favorite—and so easy to make!

Refrigerator Dill Pickles

A quick and easy way to make dill pickles at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States