Deep Fried Dill Pickles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2010
Would add 1/3 the amount of cornmeal next time, more cayenne pepper and then it would be perfect. Otherwise, a pretty good start.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
Best ever ! What I did to make it taste as the restaurant= omit cornmeal ( don't subsitute, just omit ) add a tiny bit more worcestershire sauce and subsitute the pepper sauce with cayanne ( if you want this is what I did ) I used milk buttermilk may work, will try next time =-) And what really helps and i repeat DO NOT USE THE SPEARS, DO NOT USE THE SPEARS this will only taste like a hot pickle and the breading doesn't really stick well. Yuck I say, Chips ( pickle ) work better even though every review contradicts me, but that is what they have used in restaurants and they are more bite sized. Yum yum with xtra seasonings ( w. sauce and c.pepper ) excellent !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2010
these pickles are even better then the ones at the resturant. i always half the wet ingred cuz we always have way to much, its a waste. half the wet ingred is plenty the dry ingred measurements are right on. we have made them with claussen pickles and cheap pickles always always always use with the expensive ones. way worth the extra $. my husband and i are both salt addicts never add any at the end of cooking. way toooo much salt. i always serve my pickles with homemade ranch. thanks for the keeper. these are so yummy and very addicting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by millertime

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
This was pretty yummy. I actually used pickle spears rather than slices. I felt the batter was a bit corn meal-y and could have been a bit thicker. But overall good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MTCHYG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montrose, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
Out of this world recipe. For those who are turned off by the thought of a pickle fried, you need to try this anyway. I added a lil dill weed to my batter but kept everything the same. It's crispy, sweet, savory, salty its everything, also it's not too hot and is simply AMAZING!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamie Payne

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bradford, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Port Allegany, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
My husband loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
OMG! These are awesome. I didn't change a thing. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
My hubby is a fan of deep fried pickles. This recipe...he loves! This is the only recipe we use for deep frying. Everything else is off limits due to health reasons. So, this is just the treat! I highly recommend this recipe. Use it, change it up, do what you need to. This is a staple recipe in our home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LOR9
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2009
I've been looking for an amazing recipe for fried pickles, and this is definitely one of my top picks. When I made this recipe, I did a couple minor adjustments. First, I omitted the corn meal and combined the wet and dry ingredients to make a batter, rather than dredging the pickles in the flour, for a more even coating. Second, I used pickle spears, because pickle slices tend to get incredibly greasy. If you are going to do a batter, make sure to roll the pickles in a paper towel first to dry them off, to make sure the batter sticks. Also, depending on the moisture in the air, you may want to add additional milk to thin out the batter slightly, so you don't end up with a really thick, rubbery crust. Other than those two changes, I followed the recipe, and the results were out of this world!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mike
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2009
This is a very good (basic) recipe. I call it "basic" because it provides the most flexibility of any I found for customizing. For example, I made it with my daughter, and being 10, she would not have wanted hot and spicy pickles. So we omitted the spicier ingredients and decreased the black pepper from 3/4 tsp to 1/4 tsp. We made it together and the result was WONDERFUL! I'm including a pic of our final result. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mike

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pasadena, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

Displaying results 71-80 (of 152) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Deep-Fried Dill Pickles

Batter up your dills, and fry them to a deliciously crispy, golden-brown.

How to Make Fried Pickles

These tasty fried appetizers are a Southern favorite—and so easy to make!

Japanese-Style Deep Fried Shrimp

See how to make crispy-crunchy panko-coated fried shrimp.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States