Deep Fried Dill Pickles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2006
I had these in a restaurant in Panama City Beach last fall. I looked for a similiar recipe online. I found it in this one. This one is wonderful. I have given the recipe to all my friends. I didn't change anything and everyone loves them!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hustonville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2005
These are just as good as Hooter's fried pickles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bellville, Texas, USA
Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2005
i only gave this three stars, because i do not believe sliced pickles should ever be used (they absorb too much oil), and rolling in flour after dipping in such a thin batter may have tasted ok, but it the finished result just LOOKED unappetizing. but it could very easily have five... here is how i turned a 3 star recipe into a 5 star treat. 1. Use pickle SPEARS instead of slices. they stay crisper. 2. Leave out the cornmeal. 3. instead of saving most of the flour to dredge in, dump ALL ingredients into a bowl and wisk to make a smooth, THICK batter. 4. dip pickle spears into batter, drop into hot oil, fry to golden brown. 5. drain on paper toweling. 6. try dipping in thousand island instead of ranch, YUMMY! for the record, i used regular milk instead of buttermilk, i eyeballed the ingredients instead of measuring them, and i increased the hot pepper sauce a bit to compensate for being out of cayenne pepper. i tested this recipe out so i could decide whether or not to bring it as a side dish to a BBQ later tonight... i'm on my way back to the store now to buy two more jars of pickles!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
332 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2005
This recipe was superb!! It was just like eating the ones at the restaurants. I served it with a side of ranch dressing, and everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2005
These were a taste of home southern food, I really enjoyed these as my family did too, including my 18 month old son. AWESOME!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2005
Great! Double Dip the pickles for a really crunchy shell. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2005
These were just okay. I don't like hot pickles on hamburgers, so I should've figured I wouldn't like these. I gave it 4 stars because the breading was really good. I will use it on other veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roswell, Georgia, USA
Living In: Cumming, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2004
it is an acquired taste, but my son and I acquired it quickly! Still can't sell my daughter or husband on how great they are. I made these at my job,(I'm a cook at a shelter) and 90% of the folks loved them! it has become a delicacy for my son and me. Omit the cornmeal, it's really not needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2004
I wasn't digging the whole cornmeal thing. I should have stuck with my instincts and omitted the cornmeal. Otherwise, the batter was great. I think it would be great on fish or zucchini-just not on the pickles
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2004
These were great. This batter works well on other veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RBC150

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oregon, Illinois, USA
Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 158) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Deep-Fried Dill Pickles

Batter up your dills, and fry them to a deliciously crispy, golden-brown.

How to Make Fried Pickles

These tasty fried appetizers are a Southern favorite—and so easy to make!

Refrigerator Dill Pickles

A quick and easy way to make dill pickles at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States