Deep Fried Dill Pickles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: May 25, 2006
5 star on the taste - I took others comments about the batter and mixed it all together before deep frying - I wouldn't do that again, batter was rubbery. I will definitely try this again and follow the batter instructions exactly. I bought whole pickles and cut them into both spears and thick slices - yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Valparaiso, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Caroline C
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2006
I didn't like these at all - way too sour for my taste. Husband ate his way through them with no complaints, although he said he said he wouldn't have minded if the coating had been a bit thicker and fluffier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2006
Very Very good, I have made them twice in the past 3 days. Parents loved them, well def. make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Living In: Avon, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2006
Pretty good, but not as tasty as I've had in restaurants. Next time, I will leave out the cornmeal, which I think of when frying fish. I used a blue cheese dressing available at allrecipes for a dipping sauce ... I think it's "Bob's Blue Cheese Dressing." I'll keep my eyes open for a better fried pickle recipe, but this one is still good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CURTISLEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valley, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2006
I had these in a restaurant in Panama City Beach last fall. I looked for a similiar recipe online. I found it in this one. This one is wonderful. I have given the recipe to all my friends. I didn't change anything and everyone loves them!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hustonville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2005
These are just as good as Hooter's fried pickles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bellville, Texas, USA
Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2005
i only gave this three stars, because i do not believe sliced pickles should ever be used (they absorb too much oil), and rolling in flour after dipping in such a thin batter may have tasted ok, but it the finished result just LOOKED unappetizing. but it could very easily have five... here is how i turned a 3 star recipe into a 5 star treat. 1. Use pickle SPEARS instead of slices. they stay crisper. 2. Leave out the cornmeal. 3. instead of saving most of the flour to dredge in, dump ALL ingredients into a bowl and wisk to make a smooth, THICK batter. 4. dip pickle spears into batter, drop into hot oil, fry to golden brown. 5. drain on paper toweling. 6. try dipping in thousand island instead of ranch, YUMMY! for the record, i used regular milk instead of buttermilk, i eyeballed the ingredients instead of measuring them, and i increased the hot pepper sauce a bit to compensate for being out of cayenne pepper. i tested this recipe out so i could decide whether or not to bring it as a side dish to a BBQ later tonight... i'm on my way back to the store now to buy two more jars of pickles!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
321 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2005
This recipe was superb!! It was just like eating the ones at the restaurants. I served it with a side of ranch dressing, and everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2005
These were a taste of home southern food, I really enjoyed these as my family did too, including my 18 month old son. AWESOME!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2005
Great! Double Dip the pickles for a really crunchy shell. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 152) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Deep-Fried Dill Pickles

Batter up your dills, and fry them to a deliciously crispy, golden-brown.

How to Make Fried Pickles

These tasty fried appetizers are a Southern favorite—and so easy to make!

Japanese-Style Deep Fried Shrimp

See how to make crispy-crunchy panko-coated fried shrimp.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States