Deep Fried Dill Pickles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2007
We tried these 2 different ways. As posted and also as another reviewer suggested by just dumping everything together to make a thick batter. The first way way ok, but we found that the finish product had only minimal flavor as the pickles hardly pick up any of the egg/milk mixture, which is where all of the spices are. The second way was better, because you got more of the spices, but we found that it tasted nothing like what we'd experienced in restaurants (a thin, cruncy, tasty coating) and was more like a spicy thick pancake wrapped around a warm dill pickle. Sorry for the bad review, just our opinion, will keep looking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2007
Excellent Flavor - Real crowd pleaser for those manly men. No whimps for this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Walsenburg, Colorado, USA
Living In: Irvine, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2007
very good! could use a bit more flavor even yet in the batter and coating. it was kind of bland, but definitely good consistancy. the only thing i did different--i omitted the cornmeal as many advised. may try using it next time--just adding a quarter or half of what the recipe calls for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RecipeAddict

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2006
I ORIGINALLY COOKED THESE FOR MY HUSBAND AND SON THE LOVE PICKLES, I DO NOT BUT I TRIED ONE THE WERE VERY GOOD
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Blue Springs, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2006
I made these quite often. My family likes them with fish...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Empire, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2006
Maybe I just didnt make them right, I dont know. We enjoy them at resteraunts, so it was most likely just me. I wasn't happy with my results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Conway, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Morrilton, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lace
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2006
Fried dill pickles tasted great! Used pickle spears.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lace

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2006
5 star on the taste - I took others comments about the batter and mixed it all together before deep frying - I wouldn't do that again, batter was rubbery. I will definitely try this again and follow the batter instructions exactly. I bought whole pickles and cut them into both spears and thick slices - yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Valparaiso, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Caroline C
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2006
I didn't like these at all - way too sour for my taste. Husband ate his way through them with no complaints, although he said he said he wouldn't have minded if the coating had been a bit thicker and fluffier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2006
Very Very good, I have made them twice in the past 3 days. Parents loved them, well def. make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Living In: Avon, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 149) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Fried Pickles

These tasty fried appetizers are a Southern favorite—and so easy to make!

Deep-Fried Dill Pickles

Batter up your dills, and fry them to a deliciously crispy, golden-brown.

Japanese-Style Deep Fried Shrimp

See how to make crispy-crunchy panko-coated fried shrimp.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States