Deep Fried Dill Pickles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2008
Ok, so being pregnant gave this recipe an extra star. I had a craving and this hit the spot perfectly. The only thing I was disappointed with was the lack of crunch. It was more pancakey than crispy due to adding all ingredients together as a couple reviewers suggested. Next time I will be followong the recipe exactly as stated. Dip in the egg milk mixture then dip in flour mix. That will definitely make it crispy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cjs_mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Black River Falls, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Westby, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
This was my first attempt at fried pickles, and they turned out great. Very easy recipe. There was a lot of leftover batter though, so you can use it on other veggies, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Murfreesboro, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2007
Deep fried pickles are the best! First reaction of people is "What?!?" Then they try them and are hooked! Dip them in Ranch dressing for something really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2007
They were pretty good and fairly easy to make. I found that the ones I double dipped were better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2007
instead of the mess of dipping and coating, I used large won-ton wrapers and seasond the pickle spear itself before wrapping. Crispy and tasty with no muss or fuss.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Reno, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2007
This was good but i made a few alterations: I used regular milk instead of butter milk I used less flour in the dry mix and added bread crumbs instead of cornmeal. I also added some Cayenne pepper. They turned out really good. I made them for my moms birthday but she hasnt gotten back for lunch yet, so i hope she likes them as much as I do!! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea M

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2007
These are simply delicious and very easy to make. I use part of the dry mix and save the rest in refrigerator for later use, it goes along way. yummy pickles !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2007
I gave this 3 stars for the basic idea but overall I did not like the recipe. I tried it by having the wet and dry seperate and mixing them together. I used a fondue pot with oil and let people dip their own pickles, mushrooms or onions and fry them. The pot worked great the recipe did not. Sorry but I will need to keep looking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2007
My boyfriend and I make this once a month for our "fight night" party and it's always a hit!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2007
We tried these 2 different ways. As posted and also as another reviewer suggested by just dumping everything together to make a thick batter. The first way way ok, but we found that the finish product had only minimal flavor as the pickles hardly pick up any of the egg/milk mixture, which is where all of the spices are. The second way was better, because you got more of the spices, but we found that it tasted nothing like what we'd experienced in restaurants (a thin, cruncy, tasty coating) and was more like a spicy thick pancake wrapped around a warm dill pickle. Sorry for the bad review, just our opinion, will keep looking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 158) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Deep-Fried Dill Pickles

Batter up your dills, and fry them to a deliciously crispy, golden-brown.

How to Make Fried Pickles

These tasty fried appetizers are a Southern favorite—and so easy to make!

Refrigerator Dill Pickles

A quick and easy way to make dill pickles at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States