Deep Fried Dill Pickles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2009
these are also great dipped in some whipped cream cheese
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2009
Finally! There is a local pub nearby that serves these and I have been trying to duplicate the recipe. This is spot on! I've made it both with spears and slices. I like to dip these in a little wasabi ranch sauce for a kick. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2008
I'm not one for giving bad reviews, but this one did not impress us. We really didn't like the cornmeal in the batter, the cornmeal was like sand in the batter, just little hard crunchy pieces. I did not use the hot sauce, and used chili powder in place of cayenne, and honestly couldn't taste the seasonings at all. I think with the seasonings being in the egg/milk mix that very little of the seasonings attaches to the pickle. We were trying to re-create a recipe from a restaurant and this was not it. We will keep looking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by goosegreetings

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2008
this recipe is the first one I've seen on the net that includes cornmeal and flour in the mixture. This is how it was done down in the Gulfport, Ms area. The breading sticks better and the flavor is amazing, even after they've cooled. The "just flour" fried dill pickles...not so good cold. I give this recipe an A+. But the picture is not so great.Traditionally you fried pickle slices,not spears. I've had a fried pickle spear and it's nothing like the slices. Cornmeal and slices!!!!lol.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2008
I combine all the dry ingredients in one bowl instead of adding the spices to the liquids. I also double batter and dip these. We use our favorite pickle spears, and use "Southwest Dipping Sauce" from this site....which is plenty spicy, so I often leave the cayenne and hot sauce out of the pickle recipe b/c I feel it's not key!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Adrian

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Okeana, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2008
Very tasty. I double battered as suggested, batter-flour-batter-flour, then placed on parchment paper and oven-fried at about 375 for 12 minutes on each side, spraying each side with Pam. Very crispy, easy cleanup, and minimal guilt!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Yucca Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2008
The basic recipe is good but I changed just a tad. I prepared like chicken fried steak with double dipping. 1. Use 3 separate bowls, 1 flour, 1 seasoned bread crumbs, 1 buttermilk, leave out eggs, and other seasonings. 2. Cut pickles into spears, lay on paper towel and dry off. 3. Coat dried spears in flour first, dredge in buttermilk, then back to flour, then back to buttermilk, then coat with seasoned bread crumbs, 4. Fry in hot oil. Do only 4 or 5 at a time, let come to golden brown 5. Take out a drain on paper towel, 6. Salt & Pepper to taste, if you want, try one first then if season if necessary. 7. Serve with burgers or dogs Please try, We really have a big hit when we serve this on the buffet table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2008
Ok, so being pregnant gave this recipe an extra star. I had a craving and this hit the spot perfectly. The only thing I was disappointed with was the lack of crunch. It was more pancakey than crispy due to adding all ingredients together as a couple reviewers suggested. Next time I will be followong the recipe exactly as stated. Dip in the egg milk mixture then dip in flour mix. That will definitely make it crispy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cjs_mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Black River Falls, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Westby, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
This was my first attempt at fried pickles, and they turned out great. Very easy recipe. There was a lot of leftover batter though, so you can use it on other veggies, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Murfreesboro, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2007
Deep fried pickles are the best! First reaction of people is "What?!?" Then they try them and are hooked! Dip them in Ranch dressing for something really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 155) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Deep-Fried Dill Pickles

Batter up your dills, and fry them to a deliciously crispy, golden-brown.

How to Make Fried Pickles

These tasty fried appetizers are a Southern favorite—and so easy to make!

Japanese-Style Deep Fried Shrimp

See how to make crispy-crunchy panko-coated fried shrimp.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States