Deep Fried Dill Pickles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2008
this recipe is the first one I've seen on the net that includes cornmeal and flour in the mixture. This is how it was done down in the Gulfport, Ms area. The breading sticks better and the flavor is amazing, even after they've cooled. The "just flour" fried dill pickles...not so good cold. I give this recipe an A+. But the picture is not so great.Traditionally you fried pickle slices,not spears. I've had a fried pickle spear and it's nothing like the slices. Cornmeal and slices!!!!lol.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2008
I combine all the dry ingredients in one bowl instead of adding the spices to the liquids. I also double batter and dip these. We use our favorite pickle spears, and use "Southwest Dipping Sauce" from this site....which is plenty spicy, so I often leave the cayenne and hot sauce out of the pickle recipe b/c I feel it's not key!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Adrian

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Okeana, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2008
Very tasty. I double battered as suggested, batter-flour-batter-flour, then placed on parchment paper and oven-fried at about 375 for 12 minutes on each side, spraying each side with Pam. Very crispy, easy cleanup, and minimal guilt!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Yucca Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2008
The basic recipe is good but I changed just a tad. I prepared like chicken fried steak with double dipping. 1. Use 3 separate bowls, 1 flour, 1 seasoned bread crumbs, 1 buttermilk, leave out eggs, and other seasonings. 2. Cut pickles into spears, lay on paper towel and dry off. 3. Coat dried spears in flour first, dredge in buttermilk, then back to flour, then back to buttermilk, then coat with seasoned bread crumbs, 4. Fry in hot oil. Do only 4 or 5 at a time, let come to golden brown 5. Take out a drain on paper towel, 6. Salt & Pepper to taste, if you want, try one first then if season if necessary. 7. Serve with burgers or dogs Please try, We really have a big hit when we serve this on the buffet table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2008
Ok, so being pregnant gave this recipe an extra star. I had a craving and this hit the spot perfectly. The only thing I was disappointed with was the lack of crunch. It was more pancakey than crispy due to adding all ingredients together as a couple reviewers suggested. Next time I will be followong the recipe exactly as stated. Dip in the egg milk mixture then dip in flour mix. That will definitely make it crispy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cjs_mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Black River Falls, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Westby, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
This was my first attempt at fried pickles, and they turned out great. Very easy recipe. There was a lot of leftover batter though, so you can use it on other veggies, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Murfreesboro, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2007
Deep fried pickles are the best! First reaction of people is "What?!?" Then they try them and are hooked! Dip them in Ranch dressing for something really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2007
They were pretty good and fairly easy to make. I found that the ones I double dipped were better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2007
instead of the mess of dipping and coating, I used large won-ton wrapers and seasond the pickle spear itself before wrapping. Crispy and tasty with no muss or fuss.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Reno, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2007
This was good but i made a few alterations: I used regular milk instead of butter milk I used less flour in the dry mix and added bread crumbs instead of cornmeal. I also added some Cayenne pepper. They turned out really good. I made them for my moms birthday but she hasnt gotten back for lunch yet, so i hope she likes them as much as I do!! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea M

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 152) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Deep-Fried Dill Pickles

Batter up your dills, and fry them to a deliciously crispy, golden-brown.

How to Make Fried Pickles

These tasty fried appetizers are a Southern favorite—and so easy to make!

Japanese-Style Deep Fried Shrimp

See how to make crispy-crunchy panko-coated fried shrimp.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States