Deep Fried Dill Pickles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2015
I have always loved fried pickles, so I was anxious to try this recipe! I followed the suggestions and left out the cornmeal, and also mixed all the ingredients together to make a thick batter which was definitely a win! I also used spears instead of slices- but that might just be a preference thing. My husband has never had these before and he LOVED them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bethanyellis

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Darinnia Bynam
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2015
This recipe is by far the BEST that I have tried. If you like a thick crust then double dip in dry and wet. The crust was not at all doughy but very crispy. I did everything exact except I put in more cayenne and season salt in the wet. And I put lots fresh ground pepper to the dry. This recipe made 2 jars of the kosher dill spears. I dipped them in Hidden Valley ranch dressing. Mmmmmm. I added a photo of the finished result.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darinnia Bynam

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
The pickle slices are/is the key. Spears are like buy about 20% of the people while the rest likes the spears. Deep fried about 5 min. love them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bullit bob

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Deerfield, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Fairhope, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
These are a little bit of a production to make, but totally worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sonjagroset
Living In: Lake Forest Park, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2014
Authentic! Tasted as good as fried dill pickles on Beale Street in Memphis.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa DeRenard

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
Made as the direction instructed. Served with a "Copycat Outback Bloom Sauce". The dry & wet ingredients made more then enough for a large jar of pickles chips from Aldi's grocery store;which is a no frills stores. With the extra mix we made onion petals like from outback.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
We were disappointed that the batter wasn't crispy. It was too bread-y for our taste, but had good flavor. Still looking for that perfect fried pickle recipe...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lindseye117
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2014
I think the brand of pickles is what makes this recipe. I got super crispy hamburger dills and LOVED them. I order frickles (fried pickles) all the time here in Texas. They go great with home made ranch. They are super easy to make. My only suggestion is to double the flour/corn meal mixture as there was not enough to do the whole 32 oz jar. The liquid portion was perfectly portioned. I will be saving this recipe and making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindseye117

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Charles, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Friendswood, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mi ~ (a PRO at) Being Mi
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2014
I thought these were pretty good. While they don't quite match ones I've had at restaurants, they are still tasty and fairly easy to make. Thanks for another great recipe, MARBALET!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mi ~ (a PRO at) Being Mi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alma, Michigan, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
Fried pickles should ONLY be slices, never spears. Spears don't have the crunch of the batter surrounding the pickle and, quite frankly, I've felt spears soak up more oil because it has to cook longer than slices. As for the recipe, it's can't-fail. I skip the Worcestershire, as it isn't noticeable once it's fried, but otherwise, a great way to enjoy fried pickles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 158) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Deep-Fried Dill Pickles

Batter up your dills, and fry them to a deliciously crispy, golden-brown.

How to Make Fried Pickles

These tasty fried appetizers are a Southern favorite—and so easy to make!

Japanese-Style Deep Fried Shrimp

See how to make crispy-crunchy panko-coated fried shrimp.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States