Deep Fried Corn Meal Sticks (Sorullitos de Maiz) with Dipping Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Milly Suazo
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2012
Absolutely fabulous!! I have been making sorullitos for years and experimented with the proportions with varying results, so I wanted to try this recipe. I am very happy to report that the particular ratio of ingredients here is SPOT ON. If you are looking for a sorullito that is crunchy outside and tender soft on the inside, with a taste on the sweeter side, THIS IS IT!!! (but of course you can reduce the sugar and increase the salt a bit if you want it to have more of a savory taste). I did put a stick of extra sharp cheddar cheese inside of each piece for an extra YUMMMM Thanks for the recipe Marisa!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Milly Suazo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Barrio Tejas, Humacao, Puerto Rico
Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
I've always wanted to learn how to make sorullos, and this recipe was Great. Now I don't have to wait to visit my mom to have sorullos!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
I HAVE BEEN LOOKING FOR THIS RECIPE FOR YEARS! Ohhh how these take me back! My father used to make these for the family when I was a little girl. I couldn't stop eating these!! These are perfect! THANKS FOR POSTING THIS!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bridgeport, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Naugatuck, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2013
Fantastic!!! So easy to make, So Super Yummy to eat. OFF the chain on star ratings. I was looking for something to go with the fried fish dinner that I was making for my family other than corn bread, came on site and under corn fritters I found this wonderful recipe. IT was PERFECT. My entire family raved about it. I was not too sure about the mayo/ketchup sauce but it compliments the sticks beyond belief, I made exactly as directed and would not change a thing I would not even add the cheese as it said could be done, THESE ARE PERFECT THE WAY THEY ARE> Thank you for sharing a divine side item.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Living In: Cottontown, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
I think that this recipe was delicious! It's 4/5 stars simply because I'm from a Puerto Rican household and I've had my fair share of sorullos so well, my standards are high. But this is a really nice recipe! Really crispy when fried, but soft inside. Oh and in terms of the mayo ketchup, I just make it to taste. Start with a dollop or two of mayo and a squirt of ketchup. Adjust to your taste. It's very forgiving. Yummy! Buen provecho!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
Pretty close to how my dad makes them. I was craving sorullitos & I'm not in Puerto Rico so I had to prepare them myself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ummibrahim10
Reviewed: May 8, 2015
Ive been wanting to learn how to make these for so long and this recipe was great! Next time i would add a tiny bit more sugar for my family's preference and i also added a small piece of sharp cheddar cheese because thats how im used to having them. I will definitely always use this recipe!! Thanks for sharing :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Luvmybug407
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2015
I just made them. My one year old loved it and so did I. I will definitely be making them again. So easy. I followed the recipe exactly the way it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
Easy and good. Don't overcook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2015
My sister makes these all the time, but it's the only time we get to eat them! My daughter begged me to make some so I took a chance with this recipe and not only was it simple they are perfect crunchy outside and moist inside. I also added 1tsp vanilla extract and 1tbls extra sugar, I also added a small piece of cheddar cheese to the center of some and they were great! Thanks for sharing recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fried Mozzarella Cheese Sticks

See how to make super-simple cheesy mozzarella sticks!

Blooming Onion and Dipping Sauce

This crispy, batter-fried onion with zesty dipping sauce gets the party going.

Japanese-Style Deep Fried Shrimp

See how to make crispy-crunchy panko-coated fried shrimp.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States