Deep Fried Cheese Curds Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2000
Cheese curds are the best carnival and fair food around. I am formerly from Minnesota and recently moved to a Southern state and they don't have cheese curds down here at fairs and carnivals. In fact, no one has even heard of them! I have been searching for this recipe for a long time on the internet and am really glad I finally found it. I made them and they were a hit in our house!! Thanks for posting this recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2001
Good recipe for fried cheese curds although I had expected them to fry up crispier...maybe it was my frying technique.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2001
This recipe was great! I get my cheese curds out of Elsworth, WI and I've been trying to find a batter recipe. It's alot more cheeper to make it on your own than buy those expensive batter mixes. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2002
Being an expatriate Cheesehead for the first time in my life, I planned a large get together for the opening Packer game this year. My roommate found a dairy in Marin County that sold cheese curds at the farmers market on Saturday's in San Francisco. She went down and picked up three pounds, and I proceeded to practice the night before the game using this recipe. Much to my dismay, they were not the flaky nuggets of molten cheese heaven I craved; they instead tasted like lumps of cold curd wrapped in a burnt pancake. Check out the beer batter intended for fish also found on this site and use that recipe instead: it will give you a much better taste of real Wisconsin cheese curds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
206 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2002
These were pretty good. I think I prefer cheese curds plain, but if you're going to combine them with fried dough, it's a good recipe. Pretty messy to make, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CMULLARK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New London, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2003
I was dissapointed with the results of the cheese curd. No matter what I tried they either melted in the hot oil, or the cheese curd came out cold in the center. I have tried all variations of cooking techniques. Still looking for the ultimate Mn State Fair cheese curd recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2003
I was a little nervous to try these as some of the reviews were negative, but I am really glad I did. They were just like the ones at the Minnesota State Fair!! It was a little tricky to get the temp of the oil just right, but once I did they were a breeze. Thanks for the great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2003
This was really easy to make and my cheese did get all gooey and yummy. My biggest complaint is the batter. It was thick and doughy and not anything like state fair curds. I would not use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2004
I hoped that this recipe being from wisconsin would be an allright tasting way to make homemade cheesecurds. So I tried it out. Followed it to a tea....it tasted somewhat like burnt pancakes with a hint of cheese. I'm used to minnesota state fair cheese curds so maybe my expecations were a little lofty but these curds were way too fluffy and there was barely any cheese left after being fried. I fried them in a deep frier which shouldn't matter since they're submerged in oil either way but in the end I was left with a fluffy pancake type substance with more cheese floating in and stuck to my deep frier than were in the curds. I would not recommend this recipe to anybody unless they want a huge mess with nothing to show for it. P.S. As LIBBYWYNN said in her review "They were just like the ones at the Minnesota State Fair!!". THEY WERE NOT EVEN IN THE SAME BALLPARK OR LEAGUE AS MINNESOTA STATE FAIR CHEESE CURDS. N-O-T-H-I-N-G Close.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2004
Im a southerner living in minnesota. i had fried cheese curds for the first time last year at minnesota state fair. these curds were tasty but no comparison to state fair. they did get all gooey inside but i made a few changes. Since i used fresh curds which are less salty, i added some tony cacheries which gave it some extra saltiness and a little bit of a kick. i aslo omitted some flour and substituted corn meal. will try again with some more variations. thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fried Mozzarella Cheese Sticks

See how to make super-simple cheesy mozzarella sticks!

Fried Mac and Cheese Balls

See how to turn mac ’n cheese into fun finger food!

Japanese-Style Deep Fried Shrimp

See how to make crispy-crunchy panko-coated fried shrimp.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States