Deep Fried Cheese Curds Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2000
Cheese curds are the best carnival and fair food around. I am formerly from Minnesota and recently moved to a Southern state and they don't have cheese curds down here at fairs and carnivals. In fact, no one has even heard of them! I have been searching for this recipe for a long time on the internet and am really glad I finally found it. I made them and they were a hit in our house!! Thanks for posting this recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2001
Good recipe for fried cheese curds although I had expected them to fry up crispier...maybe it was my frying technique.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2001
This recipe was great! I get my cheese curds out of Elsworth, WI and I've been trying to find a batter recipe. It's alot more cheeper to make it on your own than buy those expensive batter mixes. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2003
I was a little nervous to try these as some of the reviews were negative, but I am really glad I did. They were just like the ones at the Minnesota State Fair!! It was a little tricky to get the temp of the oil just right, but once I did they were a breeze. Thanks for the great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2006
I made the recipe and it came out great. I used my flash fryer and never had a burnt curd.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2007
Sounds like the last user had the oil way too hot and burnt the outside of the curd which left no time for the inside to cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Zumbrota, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2008
Perfect!!! After reading all the reviews I was super worried if they would work, and they work great! I overnight shipped some fresh cheese curds to Wyoming for my fiancee's (from WI) birthday- trust us we KNOW fair cheese curds and these are really pretty close! Only thing I would change would be to thin/add with beer in the batter also: * I froze the curds for an hour already battered as was suggested in another review- and THIS IS KEY!!! I dont think it would work otherwise! * Don't have you oil too hot! they taste really wrong if the oil is too hot. Keep it low and fry until you can see oozing cheese (about a minute) you want a nice blond curd not dark. Good luck! great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2008
These worked out just fine, no freezing of the cheese needed. I did thin the batter just a bit with about 2-4 TB beer (I dont measure) and added maybe another 1/4 tsp of baking powder to lighten it up... solving the "pancake around cheese" problem. Also if you are burning it your oil is too hot. Get a thermometer and watch it. 350 - 365 is just fine. I eat these (regrettably!) every year at the MN state fair and this is the closest I've been to the real deal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: North Branch, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2008
I tried this recipe for the first time and loved it, as did everyone else who was here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodstock, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Lafayette, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2008
Turned out great, I added a little Emeril's Original Essence and they turned out very good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fried Mozzarella Cheese Sticks

See how to make super-simple cheesy mozzarella sticks!

Fried Mac and Cheese Balls

See how to turn mac ’n cheese into fun finger food!

Japanese-Style Deep Fried Shrimp

See how to make crispy-crunchy panko-coated fried shrimp.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States