Deep Fried Cheese Curds Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
this was more a pancake covered cheese slug...sorry this batter needs to be crisper....temp was right...i am thinking a cornmeal/fishfry seasoned batter to be better...i had the same prob with a halibut recipe....so from now on egg dip and dredge in panko and louisiana fish fry batter...crispy and flavorful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2010
The batter is way to thick, which leads to soggy curds. Try a half can of beer and a cup of flour mixed with an egg... for a lighter batter that gets crispy, deep fry at 350-375 until the float for 20 seconds and yes i would try to throw them in the freezer a bit before frying. I am still trying to figure out how to get them to not stick together it is tricky. Good luck. These are a midwest favorite when prepared correctly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2010
Awsome! whole family loved it. i'll add a pinch more salt though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2010
I just came back from a trip in the heart of Wisconsin, and brought home fresh cheese curds. I used those and followed the recipes exactly, and it does have a "pancake" taste batter. However, when I added some black pepper, garlic salt, and a little bit of Cajun seasoning it was fantastic! Otherwise, it is a bit bland for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2010
Yummy. Works best to cook in turkey fryer. The house fryer is to messy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2009
This recipe was great. I have tried many batters, but the cheese would never stay in and it just made a huge mess. This batter held up and worked just like the MN state fair! I will be making these many more times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2009
This recipe is great except it does need some additional Salt and Pepper and I used stale beer instead of the milk. I used cheddar cheese, which I left out on the counter long enough to get a little warm, coated it in the batter and dropped it into hot oil, 375 degrees. They were light and fluffy, YES....they tasted like the state fairs cheese curds. I did houwever use a restaurant fryer, if cooking them at home be sure to cook just a few at a time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chippewa Falls, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2009
I'm happy to have found a great base recipe for cheese curds, as a homegrown Minnesotan now living in Seattle (where people haven't even heard of cheese curds!). I used garlic & herb cheese curds from the famous Beecher's Cheese at the Pike Place Market (they were out of plain). I followed many recommendations of the reviewers. I used 3/4 cup of beer instead of milk and drained off all of the excess batter before frying. Per recommendations I maintained an oil temperature of 375 which seemed to work perfectly! Also, I fried the curds at room temperature. Thanks for all of the reviews. These turned out light, fluffy and very crispy - just like at the MN State Fair!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alison.allen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mahtomedi, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2009
This is a good batter recipe, you might want to add some spice. I knew to drain my batter and shake off some. I have been looking for cheese curds for my son and finally found them this week. Thank you for the batter recipe. I think I like mixing the egg and milk together and leaving the flour seperate to dip back and forth between the two. I had made some chicken fingers the other night from another site and tried a few cheese curds in it and basic the same mixture only you add garlic powder and black pepper and dip back and forth that concept seems to work better. I just took this batter and dipped the rest of the cheese curds to freeze. I will let you know how that comes out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheesecakemama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chillicothe, Ohio, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2008
Turned out great, I added a little Emeril's Original Essence and they turned out very good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fried Mozzarella Cheese Sticks

See how to make super-simple cheesy mozzarella sticks!

Fried Mac and Cheese Balls

See how to turn mac ’n cheese into fun finger food!

Japanese-Style Deep Fried Shrimp

See how to make crispy-crunchy panko-coated fried shrimp.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States