Deep Fried Black Eyed Peas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
Yum. Addictive! Makes a lot so bring your appetite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris' Mrs.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2013
Delish! These were amazing! To add a little more kick, I sprinkled with Tony Chachere's Cajun Seasoning & Old Bay. You know when you get lifelong Mississippians to eat peas any other way but with ham hocks & bacon - and love them - you've found a recipe to keep! Definitely make sure your oil is hot enough or you will get greasy peas. After second batch, figured out the key was to fry smaller batches for 5 minutes - turned out wonderfully!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Andrea
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
Not for the meek at heart - this recipe takes a brave soul and lots of patience!! Deep frying water filled beans is a challenge as it boils over quickly but in the end a tasty fun treat for New Years - bring on the luck in 2013!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2011
I normally hate beans/peas because of their texture. The crispiness of deep-frying takes that all away. This recipe is wonderful. My only tip is to use a pot to deep-fry these. I did everything I could to make sure they were drained - but still all the water from soaking caused my deep-fryer to overflow, and I lost a lot of oil and had a big mess to clean up. Delicious though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by dsmhero
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
Just made these for the first time. I must say they turned out fantastic! Nice, light and not too greasy just make sure your oil is nice and hot. The only thing I changed was using sea salt instead of kosher. All my family loved this recipe, I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
I must've been missing something, but this did not turn out good for me. Frying the peas was very painful - they oil kept bubbeling and overflowing from the pot even when only a few of the peas were pu in there. Had to dich tthe recipe latminute. Not sure what went wrong - sounded a great recipe on first read.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by funkyme

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
Mmmmmm! big hit at our place We grow our own and this is a different way to use them. I used a cajun season salt and extra garlic salt. Be sure to drain well on paper towels.I did a quick soak method ,worked fine
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2010
My friends loved these! Crispy, salty, flavorful & snacky :) Mine turned out nice & light, not greasy like another reviewer, maybe their oil needed to be hotter. I made sure mine were well drained before frying too. So what if they're not healthy, they're fried!! Like other guilty pleasures, not an everyday thing but fun for guests & really tasty. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by swissmisschocolatekiss

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2010
I was not impressed. What an oily mess and a terrible jolt to ones system (meaning your body). And one does what, with these fried things? Yes I fried them as the recipe called for and it looked just like the picture, but please...popcorn would have been better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Osseo, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Jordan, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2010
Crunchy outside, full of flavor inside. The recipe is good as it is. We've made couple of changes just to try to get different tastes. Used Italian spice mix and red hot chili to season after frying. Drained the extra oil. I put a layer of Turkish yogurt on a plate and put the beans on it. Hot-cold, crunchy-soft, spicy-plain.... Wonderful joy of tastes.... Thank you for this different recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by iva66

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Japanese-Style Deep Fried Shrimp

See how to make crispy-crunchy panko-coated fried shrimp.

Fried Mozzarella Cheese Sticks

See how to make super-simple cheesy mozzarella sticks!

Brie, Pear, and Black Pepper Appetizer

Try this simple cheese and fresh pear party snack.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States