Deep Dish Potato and Pumpkin Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2009
This recipe came out perfectly for me. I did peel my potatoes after they baked. The flavor was somewhat like Northern Michigan's famous pasties and so next time I might try adding some turnip or a little parsnip to the mix. Thanks! Update: Just a couple weeks later and I'm all set to make this dish again. It was that good. I found some organic, whole wheat pie crusts in the frozen section of our grocery and will try those. We do enjoy the pie crust in this recipe. Fantabulous! Oh yeah, I've also agreed to make this for three friends. No matter, this dish is THAT easy to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
My tastebuds are singing!!! My family loved this!!! I made the following changes: I peeled my-baked-potatoes (I didn't notice in the recipe where it mentioned to peel or not to peel)and then added some canned yams, which I drained and cubed (I'd use baked sweet potatoes next time, but I didn't have any). Also I stirred in some some evaporated milk (about 2/3 of the can) and grated parmesean cheese and let that all cook down a bit. I took some buttery club crackers and mixed them with real melted butter and made a 9 x 13 crust. Top with potato/pumpkin filling, sprinkle with more parmesean, baake at 350 until crust is done, and YUMMY!!! The perfect fall food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
Delicious! I didn't use a pie crust either but I think it would be good that way, too. I have some delicious salsa that's mostly sweet peppers and I added maybe half a cup of that for a little extra zing. Next time I might add some fennel instead. Very good on these cool fall nights!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Poulsbo, Washington, USA
Living In: Wasilla, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2009
Very good with a couple of changes. I did not use allspice, but added a bit of poultry seasoning. I used fat-free cheese (American and Mozzerlla, that's all I had)and I omitted the pie crust and baked it in a baking pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2009
I didn't have pumpkin on hand so used a butternut squash instead, the flavour was fantastic but next time would peel and cube the squash instead of roasting it in the skin. Also I'd add a couple of sweet potato's. I didn't add the cheese and found it made a fantastic side dish, the kids ate it up so no complaints there!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brantford, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
I used a homemade crust, but not the one from the recipe. Mine was made with vegetable shortening. It turned out perfectly. Also, I used dried herbs and mozzarella cheese. I loved it, my husband thought it needed something. I think next time I will add more vegetables - maybe peppers and carrots?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2009
Made the filling exactly as submitted but omitted the crust -- thought I'd do a trial run. My family gives it 5 thumbs up! This will become a dish I take to Thanksgiving dinner this year. One question: there is one family member that isn't too fond of thyme. Could anyone suggest an alternative herb to use that would similarly enhance all the flavours?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2009
I followed other reviews and omitted the crust. Also, used 1 cup pureed pumpkin, 1/2 pound of sausage, and one sweeet onion. We really liked this dish, will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2008
Brought this to a potluck and people thought it was fine. I made it without crust as one reviewer suggested, but I definitely think it needs a crust. Otherwise, it doesn't look presentable. I had to substitute parsley for thyme.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2007
This has become a family favorite! I use a refrigerated crust. There's enough filling for 2 regular 9" pie pans. We eat one and freeze the other. This is a great fall or winter side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pumpkin Pie

Follow this quick and easy recipe for perfect pumpkin pie.

Pumpkin Chiffon Pie

This airy, no-bake pumpkin pie will make you the star of Thanksgiving dinner.

Mrs. Sigg’s Fresh Pumpkin Pie

Treat your Thanksgiving guests to a rave-worthy, 5-star pumpkin pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States