Deep Dish Layered Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2002
Big hit at our Christmas progressive dinner with the neighbors!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by What a Dish!
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2005
My mom makes a salad like this for Thanksgiving and I love it! I like this version because the mayo dressing is "jazzed up" with the garlic and curry powder. I threw the parm cheese right into the dressing and put cheddar all over the top of this salad. I omitted the mushrooms, used an orange pepper, and cooked about 7 pieces of bacon and crumbled them. I also used light mayo. This one is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2002
As stated many times over previously . . . this is a FABULOUS recipe. My family all loved it. I cut it in half and it was just enough for 8 people as a side dish. I didn't change a thing but my curry powder wasn't the freshest so would probably add a bit more next time. It is great to have these recipes for food items that can be made ahead of time . . . they are such time and nerve savers when entertaining.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: La Crosse, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2004
This salad is SO good, but it's the dressing that makes it EXCEPTIONAL! I skipped the mushrooms and celery, and used 1/2 parmesan cheese and 1/2 cheddar cheese on top to give it some more color, and then used imitation bacon bits for convenience. I used red onion instead of green for more color, and chopped the water chestnuts first before adding. I will make this salad again and again! I especially love that it keeps well in the fridge if we have leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Paul, Idaho, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2005
This salad was good. Different from the other layered salads. The dressing makes this one stand out! I did omit the mushrooms, used red onions instead of the green onions. I mixed the parmesan cheese right in with the mayo and added shredded cheese to the top. Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Duluth, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2002
This was ok, but had too much lettuce. I think twice the eggs and bacon may have made it better. I make a similiar salad, but build it in a 9x13 glass dish; that way the dressing is distributed over more of the salad ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2005
Wow the dressing really does make this salad stand out from the rest of the layered salads. Delicious!! I added extra hard boiled eggs, used 6 slices of cooked crumbled bacon, and red onion instead of green onion. The salad was a hit. But FYI don't mix the dressing til the last minute as salad doesn't hold up well once dressing is mixed in. The salad is great will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2005
Great salad! I substituted FF sour cream for the mayo with excellent results. I forgot to put on the parmesan, and knew immediately after I tasted it that something was missing. The salty parmesan is necessary to balance the sweet dressing on this salad. The dressing with the FF sour cream would also make an excellent party dip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2003
Of several different variations on layered salads that I've made, this is my new favorite. The combination of ingredients is great, I didn't change a thing even though I am not a mushroom fan and considered leaving them out, but I loved them in this. The extra flavors in the dressing are just enough to make it stand out from the usual basic mayo topping often used in similar recipes... next time the only changes I might make just for my personal taste would be to add just a bit more of the garlic and brown sugar to the dressing, and maybe a bit more chopped egg in the salad. I misread the layering instructions and instead of only one layer of each of the veggies, I did two layers of each, and had it in a clear rectangular container, so it didn't look as "layered" as it would have if I had done it right, but still turned out perfectly. Made it the night before a potluck at work and it went over very well, but we had so much food there that I did have some leftovers to bring home, and the salad stayed fresh and crisp tasting even to the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blackberry

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2002
This was a favorite at my party last Christmas and again in the New Year, which I made, by special request. Added some slices of beets and red pepper. The dressing made the difference. fantastic!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Peach and Escarole Salad

See how to make a delicious salad with sweet peaches and fresh greens.

Caesar Salad Supreme

See how to make a classic salad with garlic croutons and a creamy dressing.

How to Make Spicy Corn Salad

Corn, sweet onions, and jalapenos combine into a spicy summer salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States