Deep Dish Layered Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2004
I enjoyed the salad but the dressing... i did not like. I had to scoop most of it off. And with the last layer of lettuce and then putting the dressing on top, it made the lettuce all wilty and soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2004
Made this for a family gathering and everyone liked it. They are asking me to make it again. So refreshing to have a salad that is a little bit different from the normal fare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2004
This recipe was a great hit. But I personally found that there was too much dressing at the top of the salad so next time I make it I will try including the dressing in with each layer, or at least some of the layers, just to break it up a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2004
This is a favorite. Everyone loved it and cleaned out the dish. One change I made was substituting fresh broccoli floweretts instead of peas. It was a big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Barboursville, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2004
This salad is SO good, but it's the dressing that makes it EXCEPTIONAL! I skipped the mushrooms and celery, and used 1/2 parmesan cheese and 1/2 cheddar cheese on top to give it some more color, and then used imitation bacon bits for convenience. I used red onion instead of green for more color, and chopped the water chestnuts first before adding. I will make this salad again and again! I especially love that it keeps well in the fridge if we have leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Paul, Idaho, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2004
I LOVE this salad! As many have said, the dressing is what sets this apart. Other vegetables can also be used, such as broccoli, cauliflower, and red bell pepper. I am vegan so I sub vegan mayo, bacon bits, and parmesan for the regular. I omit the eggs. Fabulous twist on the regular seven layer salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2003
Of several different variations on layered salads that I've made, this is my new favorite. The combination of ingredients is great, I didn't change a thing even though I am not a mushroom fan and considered leaving them out, but I loved them in this. The extra flavors in the dressing are just enough to make it stand out from the usual basic mayo topping often used in similar recipes... next time the only changes I might make just for my personal taste would be to add just a bit more of the garlic and brown sugar to the dressing, and maybe a bit more chopped egg in the salad. I misread the layering instructions and instead of only one layer of each of the veggies, I did two layers of each, and had it in a clear rectangular container, so it didn't look as "layered" as it would have if I had done it right, but still turned out perfectly. Made it the night before a potluck at work and it went over very well, but we had so much food there that I did have some leftovers to bring home, and the salad stayed fresh and crisp tasting even to the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blackberry

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2003
I made this the first time for company and everyone loved it. I made it exactly as the recipe read.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2003
This was an interesting salad; very crunchy and the dressing made it sweet & spicy. I like mushrooms, but didn't like them in this salad. I don't think they added anything to it. I would use broccoli instead or any combination of your favorite vegies. I used only half the dressing and put the other half on the table for those who wanted it. I had leftovers this morning and the salad was just as crisp and fresh as the night before. The dressing would be a nice change for a dip with your vegie tray. I would make this salad again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2003
I am always asked to make this wonderful salad. Because of different tastes I use many different vegetables then what is listed. What I use is bag lettuce, a red onion, mushrooms, broccoli, califlower, peas, egg, real bacon and cheddar cheese. I have to say what makes this salad is the dressing. That always stays the same no matter what veggies I use. This will be in my collection for many years.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: Troy, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Roquefort Pear Salad

This creamy, tangy salad has a delicious crunch from the pecans.

Peach and Escarole Salad

See how to make a delicious salad with sweet peaches and fresh greens.

Corn Salad with Creamy Italian Dressing

An easy corn salad with roasted red peppers and a creamy dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States