Deep Dish Layered Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2006
Very good taste...way way too much mayo..next time I will cut that part of the recipe in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Delmar, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fruitland, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2006
This recipe is a big hit in our whole family. I just use whatever colorful salad ingredients I have on hand - including cucumbers, red and yellow peppers and red onion. The dressing is great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2006
I have served this several times with some dry ribs and its always completly gone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2006
This salad is a great side dish. I made the salad on a Sunday and I did not put the dressing on the salad. The salad stayed fresh and since I didn't dress it, we were able to have it as a side through out the week. The dressing is definitely a highlight of the recipe. I used imitation bacon bits to save time as others have suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2005
Easy! Made on Christmas Eve for Christmas Dinner. Wonderful addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Belzoni, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2005
I used this at Thanksgicing dinner for the first time and it was a hit. Just make sure you have a big enough bowl to mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Commerce Township, Michigan, USA
Living In: Novi, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2005
This salad was good. Different from the other layered salads. The dressing makes this one stand out! I did omit the mushrooms, used red onions instead of the green onions. I mixed the parmesan cheese right in with the mayo and added shredded cheese to the top. Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Duluth, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2005
Great salad! I substituted FF sour cream for the mayo with excellent results. I forgot to put on the parmesan, and knew immediately after I tasted it that something was missing. The salty parmesan is necessary to balance the sweet dressing on this salad. The dressing with the FF sour cream would also make an excellent party dip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2005
This is good. I just layered lettuce, green onions, peas, mushrooms, bacon and used cherry tomatoes from my garden. Also added cheddar cheese. I think it is great, but my husband thought there was too much mayo. I might try it again and halve the amount of dressing. He was right- it was a bit heavy on top. But the dressing is what makes this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. K

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beaverton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Henderson, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by What a Dish!
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2005
My mom makes a salad like this for Thanksgiving and I love it! I like this version because the mayo dressing is "jazzed up" with the garlic and curry powder. I threw the parm cheese right into the dressing and put cheddar all over the top of this salad. I omitted the mushrooms, used an orange pepper, and cooked about 7 pieces of bacon and crumbled them. I also used light mayo. This one is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 41-50 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Peach and Escarole Salad

See how to make a delicious salad with sweet peaches and fresh greens.

Caesar Salad Supreme

See how to make a classic salad with garlic croutons and a creamy dressing.

How to Make Spicy Corn Salad

Corn, sweet onions, and jalapenos combine into a spicy summer salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States