Deep Dish Lasagna Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 9, 2006
This would have been a nicer presentation w/out so much sauce. NO need for 2 cups on the bottom of pan. I also used the no-boil lasagna noodles but I do cover them with hot water for 10 minutes prior to using because...it's easier to layer with normal size noodles. I use my own Italian sausage made from ground pork. Used 3 T Italian seasoning + 1 tsp of crushed red pepper flakes with other recipe herbs in my own homemade tomato sauce. I added extra fresh grated Parm & Mozz & used roasted garlic (and herbs) in ricotta mix. 3 cans of tomato paste seemed "heavy" to me so I didn't use any. I simmered sauce for 1 hour. I have quit using spinach as I don't like fussing with it. Anyway ~ If you can plan ahead: assemble and store (covered) in fridge day before cooking for a stress free company dinner. What I've found works best for layering: A little sauce + 1 T olive oil, layer of pasta - sauce - cooked/crumbled meat (I don't cook it in sauce) - Parmesan - shredded mozzarella -ricotta mix and back to layer of pasta. Repeat with last layer of pasta on top. Top that lightly with some sauce, add't Mozzarella and parm. Another note: Do NOT try to cut /serve lasagna right out of the oven. Allow it to sit for at least 30 minutes. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CantHelpMyself

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2006
this recipe makes a mean lasagna! i added sliced zucchini, fresh mushrooms and used 4 cups shredded mozz. i didn't have fresh parsley so i substituted with 3 1/2 tablespoons dried. it turned out so yummy! it's time consuming but the end result is well worth the effort. i will be making this again, and again, and again!! thanks for sharing...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albany, New York, USA
Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2006
great lasagna! I love that it has sausage instead of ground beef...so much more interesting. For anyone who has not tried this, I did and it worked great - instead of boiling the noodles, I laid them on a sheet pan and poured boiling water over them while I was making the red sauce (btw, I like diced tomatoes, so I substitued those instead of tom. sauce and water as called for). Since the dish bakes for 45 minutes, the noodles came out perfect!! So much easier than boiling the noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2002
I made this for Christmas dinner for my family and they raved about it! Even those who don't like lasagna couldn't help but ask for seconds. I added some extra sausage for the meat lovers. This is now my favorite lasagna recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
My family really liked this recipe. It takes some time but we were able to make two meals from this. Be sure you are a spinach lover if you decide to use it because I was able to taste it much more than I expected. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
FANTASTIC!!! I love a good homemade lasagna, you can't beat them - so much better than store bought. Very time consuming to make, but always worth it! Anyway, made this over the weekend for my mom and dad's birthday dinner & I loved that this one uses tomato paste and tomato sauce instead of jarred pasta sauce. I didn't have Italian sausage, so I used a combo of lean ground beef and some ground pork. I also added some fresh zucchini and grated carrots and my usual dash of nutmeg to the ricotta mixture. A great tip is to soak uncooked lasagna noodles in hot water for 20-30 mins while you are prepping everything else - no need to boil the water and cook the noodles as they finish cooking when the lasagna goes in the oven! I made this on the Friday, left it sitting uncooked until the Saturday and then cooked that afternoon. So yummy. Great with a nice salad and Italian Pinwheel Rolls from this site, mmmmm!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANJACKSON

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pickering, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
great and easy lasagna!! I only used 2 cans of tomato paste, omitted the spinach and added fresh sliced mushrooms. I also used the no boil noodles which was alot easier. Must be good because my husband ate a HUGE amount!! Will make again and again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Greenfield, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
delicious! I added mushrooms to the meat sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2010
Made this for dinner and it was a hit! Minus the spinach which I will try next go round and this time I added ground turkey and turkey sausage instead of italian sausage. Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
This was awesome, total hit, everyone loved it and kept eating until they couldnt lift thier forks anymore!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alihondro

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Littleton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Deep Dish Lasagna

A crowd-pleasing lasagna with layers of cheese, sausage, spinach, and sauce.

Creamy Chicken Lasagna

Chicken and cream cheese star in this deliciously unique lasagna.

Hearty Vegetable Lasagna

Layers of flavors make this 5-star lasagna a hearty hit.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States