Deep Dish Lasagna Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2015
I always make my own personal adjustments to recipes, so there are a few things I do differently then what this recipe suggest but this is by far the BEST lasanga I have ever tasted! My Husband and both of our families love love love when I make it and they will request it if I don't make it often enough! Everyone says it is better than any Italian restaurant, I definitely recommend making this to anyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2015
This a fabulous recipe! Just a few tips I might add... Make marinara first, then refrigerate overnight. Use Chianti red wine to thin out the marinara instead of water. Also added fresh basil, red, yellow and green bell peppers to the Marinara, (chopped medium to small). Most importantly, keep your layers thin and even so you will have room for that last layer! When done, refrigerate until cold. Slice into pie shaped wedges. ( If you try to cut this while it's hot, you will have a mess!) Reheat, garnish with fresh grated parmesan and sprigs of Italian parsley. Be sure to serve the same Chianti with the lasagna so the tastes don't clash, Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vinman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ojai, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2014
use also provolone cheese
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2013
Wonderful recipe. Invited some friends over because the dish is so large and even one who disliked spinach liked the lasagna enough for three helpings. I used no boil noodles to cut down on prep (although I forgot to soak them so they were a bit too al dente, I'll correct that next time). I added a diced zucchini to the skillet while browning the meat and used chopped green onions because I prefer them to yellow. The cans of Hunts tomato paste and sauce I had on hand already had Italian seasonings included so I didn't add that (but still added the extra basil and oregano). Turned out wonderfully but almost overflowed my 13x9x2 dish, so I'll have to find a deeper one for next time (2 1/2 to 3).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2013
Made this last night, with some modifications. I used 1 lb. ground beef, and 1 lb. sweet Italian sausage. Doubled the amount of tomato sauce and used more water than recipe called for. Eyeballed the seasonings, so probably used more than recipe stated. Also let it simmer for about 2 hours before assembling the lasagna. Used more cheese, but did mix the ricotta, spinach and parmesan with eggs and seasonings as called for in the recipe. I make lasagna a few times per year, but have never mixed eggs with the cheese. I was hesitant to try this, but it was really good this way. I followed the instructions for layering the lasagna, just put the rest of the ricotta and parmesan on the top layer of the noodles; covered with the sauce and mozzarella and baked it according to directions. It was absolutely delicious! Also, even though I doubled the sauce ingredients, it still made only one pan of lasagna. I used a few more noodles than called for (trying to use the entire package). It was extremely heavy so we needed only a small slice. Served it with a green salad and Italian bread for a wonderful dinner. Thanks for the recipe. Sorry to have made so many changes, but it was only with quantity. I thought we would have extra sauce for freezing, but no such luck. Used it all in this lasagna. Not sure if we would have enjoyed it so much with less sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by RayZlobo
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
My family loved it! However I will say this, this was my first lasagna and I was exhausted!! But it was worth it. I added 1 pound of ground beef along with the Italian sausage, and boy did it make it worth it! While this pan size actually contained the beast, I might get a slightly bigger size next time and adjust the portions a little. Oh, I did add a little more of the seasonings except for the garlic salt and Italian seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RayZlobo

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2013
This worked out great. I actually used jarred pathetic sauce to save time after work. I also completely forgot to put in the gigs and everything came together well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2013
This is a great recipe! My husband doesn't touch Italian food/pasta dishes, and he was all over this dish! I used ground beef instead of sausage and it came out really nicely. I think next time I will add a little more cheese. It wasn't as cheesy as I would have liked. Nonetheless, it was tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Thornhill, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2013
Nothing special, sorry!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Trafford, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2013
This is a version of MY lasagne! I use cottage cheese instead of ricotta, sometimes use a bag of chopped fresh spinach, and often use the other half of the pot of meat sauce for bolognaise with added sausage, sauce and veggies as needed. This is also great as vegetable lasagne with layered zucchini & eggplant slices in pasta sauce. Try a few sprinkles of ground nutmeg in the egg spinach mixture. It rocks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Deep Dish Lasagna

A crowd-pleasing lasagna with layers of cheese, sausage, spinach, and sauce.

Easy Lasagna II

This top-rated recipe is lasagna made simple.

Creamy Chicken Lasagna

Chicken and cream cheese star in this deliciously unique lasagna.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States