Deep Dish Lasagna Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
FANTASTIC!!! I love a good homemade lasagna, you can't beat them - so much better than store bought. Very time consuming to make, but always worth it! Anyway, made this over the weekend for my mom and dad's birthday dinner & I loved that this one uses tomato paste and tomato sauce instead of jarred pasta sauce. I didn't have Italian sausage, so I used a combo of lean ground beef and some ground pork. I also added some fresh zucchini and grated carrots and my usual dash of nutmeg to the ricotta mixture. A great tip is to soak uncooked lasagna noodles in hot water for 20-30 mins while you are prepping everything else - no need to boil the water and cook the noodles as they finish cooking when the lasagna goes in the oven! I made this on the Friday, left it sitting uncooked until the Saturday and then cooked that afternoon. So yummy. Great with a nice salad and Italian Pinwheel Rolls from this site, mmmmm!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANJACKSON

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pickering, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
great and easy lasagna!! I only used 2 cans of tomato paste, omitted the spinach and added fresh sliced mushrooms. I also used the no boil noodles which was alot easier. Must be good because my husband ate a HUGE amount!! Will make again and again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Greenfield, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
Was absolutely wonderful. I left out the spinach and instead of mozzarella chesse I used colby, montery and sharp cheddar shredded. Did not have these ingredients so made a different version. Glad I did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Helen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2009
This was a yummy lasagne, the Italian sausage was tasty. The only thing I did differently was to use less spinach. I'd add more veggies next time, but a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Edmonds, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2009
Absolutely delicious!! Made this for my boyfriend who is very picky and he's ate it for lunch and dinner the last two days! I didn't have oregano so I added extra basil and also some salt to the meat mixture. As suggested by another review, have everything chopped and ready to go BEFORE you start otherwise it gets a little crazy. The only issue I had was that 1 pound of meat didn't seem like enough?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss Sonia B

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2009
Really loved the recipe-especially the sausage rather than using ground beef. I added extra garlic and used fresh basil,but kept the rest the same. Lots of compliments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2009
This is absolutely the best lasagna I've ever had. I had to sub a coupla items because we don't have ricotta or Italian sausage where I live (China) so I subbed tofu and made my own sausage. I only had two eggs. Added some extra veggies (zucchini, mushrooms, grated carrots) but it would have been just fine without that. I would rate this higher if I could. I even had some for breakfast this morning and it was even better. I can't believe more people have not tried this recipe. After reading the reviews of other lasagna recipes, I found that most people made changes that were already included in this outstanding recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cynthia

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Shanghai, Shanghai (Municipality) , China

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2009
MY SEARCH IS FINALLY OVER!!! This lasagna was awesome. Let me start by saying, I was going to make the American Lasagna also on this site since it was rated high but after reading reviews there were too many additions/substitutions that were used to get it to the 5 star rating. I read the reviews for this recipe and not many complained about dryness or blandness which has always been my issue with lasagnas in the past. This recipe has the perfect amount of seasonings and sauce consistency to make a tasty and moist lasagna. The only changes I made were based on personal taste. I added some cayenne (about 1/8 tsp), substituted one of the 15 oz containers of ricotta for 8 oz of cream cheese and I only used 1 egg. I also salted the meat mixture a lil to taste and added about 1 1/2 tbsp of sugar. Absolutely perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
Absolutely delicious. Easily some of the best, if not the best lasagna I have ever had. I added a little bit of feta cheese to it as well though, I would recommend that to anyone making this. Otherwise, it is outstanding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
Turned out excellent and I'm a non-cooker normally. It wasn't too hard to make. Rich and tasty, I was impressed with the recipe, and myself for managing to cook it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Deep Dish Lasagna

A crowd-pleasing lasagna with layers of cheese, sausage, spinach, and sauce.

Creamy Chicken Lasagna

Chicken and cream cheese star in this deliciously unique lasagna.

Slow Cooker Lasagna

See how to make a meaty lasagna in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States