Deep Dish Lasagna Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 9, 2006
Awesome with my own tweaks. I'll say it takes some time/love to make a decent lasagna so plz do - it's worth it. Best noodle method - use a large pan and cover raw noodles with boiling water and let sit for 10 - 15 minutes vs recipe directions. I eyeballed herbs/seasonings with 1/2 tsp of red pepper flakes to my homemade tomato sauce. I use 4 cups mozz and more fresh grated Parm. I also mix roasted garlic (and herbs) in ricotta mix with a little freshly grated nutmeg. 3 cans of tomato paste seemed "heavy" to me so I just skipped it. I like submitter's idea to mix spinach with the ricotta, that works wonderfully. Anyway ~ If you can plan ahead: assemble and store (covered) in fridge day before cooking for a stress free company dinner. What I've found works best for layering: bottom - 1/4 C sauce + 2 T olive oil (shake it around pan bottom) - layer of par cooked pasta - ricotta mix - shredded mozz & parm - cooked sausage (on it's own) - sauce and then another layer of pasta. Repeat with last layer of pasta on top. Spread sauce evenly on top and I use a baking sheet to cover pan. I add top layer of mixed cheese last 15 minutes of baking - uncovered. I recommend: Do NOT try to cut/serve lasagna straight away. Allow it to sit for at least 15 minutes or it falls apart. Note: Have all components ready or you might get overwhelmed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CantHelpMyself

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2006
this recipe makes a mean lasagna! i added sliced zucchini, fresh mushrooms and used 4 cups shredded mozz. i didn't have fresh parsley so i substituted with 3 1/2 tablespoons dried. it turned out so yummy! it's time consuming but the end result is well worth the effort. i will be making this again, and again, and again!! thanks for sharing...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albany, New York, USA
Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2006
great lasagna! I love that it has sausage instead of ground beef...so much more interesting. For anyone who has not tried this, I did and it worked great - instead of boiling the noodles, I laid them on a sheet pan and poured boiling water over them while I was making the red sauce (btw, I like diced tomatoes, so I substitued those instead of tom. sauce and water as called for). Since the dish bakes for 45 minutes, the noodles came out perfect!! So much easier than boiling the noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2002
I made this for Christmas dinner for my family and they raved about it! Even those who don't like lasagna couldn't help but ask for seconds. I added some extra sausage for the meat lovers. This is now my favorite lasagna recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
My family really liked this recipe. It takes some time but we were able to make two meals from this. Be sure you are a spinach lover if you decide to use it because I was able to taste it much more than I expected. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
FANTASTIC!!! I love a good homemade lasagna, you can't beat them - so much better than store bought. Very time consuming to make, but always worth it! Anyway, made this over the weekend for my mom and dad's birthday dinner & I loved that this one uses tomato paste and tomato sauce instead of jarred pasta sauce. I didn't have Italian sausage, so I used a combo of lean ground beef and some ground pork. I also added some fresh zucchini and grated carrots and my usual dash of nutmeg to the ricotta mixture. A great tip is to soak uncooked lasagna noodles in hot water for 20-30 mins while you are prepping everything else - no need to boil the water and cook the noodles as they finish cooking when the lasagna goes in the oven! I made this on the Friday, left it sitting uncooked until the Saturday and then cooked that afternoon. So yummy. Great with a nice salad and Italian Pinwheel Rolls from this site, mmmmm!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANJACKSON

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pickering, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
great and easy lasagna!! I only used 2 cans of tomato paste, omitted the spinach and added fresh sliced mushrooms. I also used the no boil noodles which was alot easier. Must be good because my husband ate a HUGE amount!! Will make again and again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Greenfield, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
delicious! I added mushrooms to the meat sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2010
Made this for dinner and it was a hit! Minus the spinach which I will try next go round and this time I added ground turkey and turkey sausage instead of italian sausage. Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
This was awesome, total hit, everyone loved it and kept eating until they couldnt lift thier forks anymore!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alihondro

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Littleton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Deep Dish Lasagna

A crowd-pleasing lasagna with layers of cheese, sausage, spinach, and sauce.

Creamy Chicken Lasagna

Chicken and cream cheese star in this deliciously unique lasagna.

Hearty Vegetable Lasagna

Layers of flavors make this 5-star lasagna a hearty hit.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States