Deep Dish Lasagna Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2007
I loved it - family said too much spinach
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grangeville, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2007
Great recipe! Hubby doesn't like ricotta cheese, so I substituted with cottage cheese (2% milkfat - small curd). It turned out great. Also, I added one cup of mozzarella cheese in "step 4". This helped keep the cheese mixture from "sliding", which is often the case with lasagna. Instead of a whole pound of sausage, I used 1/2 lb. and 1/2 lb. of ground turkey...a healthier combination!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shelzers

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2007
Excellent recipe, the best I've found. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winder, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ANNMARSH
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2007
This is a wonderful classic lasagna recipe. I have been making this for years and everyone always loves it. It is somewhat time consuming to prepare, but is totally worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bloomington, Indiana, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2006
I made this recipe for Christmas and my family loved it. It was so good that I am going to make it for New Year's Day. Thanks for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2006
This is one of the best lasagnas I have ever tasted. All my friends luved it! I used ground turkey instead of sausage and it came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2006
mmm mmm mmmm!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2006
This was fabulous! I followed it exactly and it came out great! Even my husband, who isn't big on green vegetables, loved it! I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mount Vernon, Indiana, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2006
This would have been a nicer presentation w/out so much sauce. NO need for 2 cups on the bottom of pan. I also used the no-boil lasagna noodles but I do cover them with hot water for 10 minutes prior to using because...it's easier to layer with normal size noodles. I use my own Italian sausage made from ground pork. Used 3 T Italian seasoning + 1 tsp of crushed red pepper flakes with other recipe herbs in my own homemade tomato sauce. I added extra fresh grated Parm & Mozz & used roasted garlic (and herbs) in ricotta mix. 3 cans of tomato paste seemed "heavy" to me so I didn't use any. I simmered sauce for 1 hour. I have quit using spinach as I don't like fussing with it. Anyway ~ If you can plan ahead: assemble and store (covered) in fridge day before cooking for a stress free company dinner. What I've found works best for layering: A little sauce + 1 T olive oil, layer of pasta - sauce - cooked/crumbled meat (I don't cook it in sauce) - Parmesan - shredded mozzarella -ricotta mix and back to layer of pasta. Repeat with last layer of pasta on top. Top that lightly with some sauce, add't Mozzarella and parm. Another note: Do NOT try to cut /serve lasagna right out of the oven. Allow it to sit for at least 30 minutes. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CantHelpMyself

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2006
I was somewhat dissapointed with this lasagna, I am so used to following the one on the back of the pasta boxes but this time I wanted to try something new. The results were not as good as my usual one and there wasn't enough meat in the final dish, also, the tomato paste took over the entire flavoring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Deep Dish Lasagna

A crowd-pleasing lasagna with layers of cheese, sausage, spinach, and sauce.

Creamy Chicken Lasagna

Chicken and cream cheese star in this deliciously unique lasagna.

Slow Cooker Lasagna

See how to make a meaty lasagna in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States