Deep Dish Chicken Pot Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2006
Honestly, I am shocked this recipe got so many 5 star ratings. If you make the recipe as it is, it isn't all that great. I followed the recipe and it was very bland. Most people used heavy cream as opposed to milk, which is what the recipe calls for, and maybe my results would have been different had I done that. Salt and pepper were definitely needed as well. I let it rest for 15 minutes before cutting into it and the inside was just soupy. It ran all over the plate and into the empty space in the pie dish. I believe reviews should be given for the recipe as it is, not on how much someone changes it to make it a 5 star recipe. This is not a very good pot pie. I think a Marie Callendar's frozen chicken pot pie is a lot better and without all the work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly Rader

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hesperia, California, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2006
This is a wonderful chicken pot pie. I took the advice of another reviewer and added chicken broth and heavy cream and eliminated the bouillon and water. The pot pie will thicken the longer you let it cool, which takes a long time. Approx. 40 minutes. Will definetly make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2006
This is a very delicious and easy pot pie recipe... it was so good in fact that my family made me make them more the next day. My family (hubby, sisters, brothers,neices & nephews,& friends) are very picky about what they will eat and they gobbled these up. I used heavy cream instead of milk and it came out thicker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2006
Very yummy. It came out a little soupy the night that I made it, but when warmed over for lunch the next day, it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarah22

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Muncie, Indiana, USA
Living In: Lafayette, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2006
This tastes SO much better than those frozen pot pies! It's super easy, but tastes like it took all day! I left out the pimentos and added some extra seasoning (salt, pepper, garlic) and it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2006
This pot pie was so good! Even just the filling alone is a great stew, and I added some cooked potatos which made it even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2006
My husband and son rated this an A+. It was easy to make and very filling. I also used Chicken broth instead of water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Allen, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2006
This was an excellent recipe. Here is how I adapted it. I cut down the butter to 2 T. Instead of the water and seasoning I used 1 14.5 ounce can of chicken broth and 1 pint (8 ounces) of heavy cream (instead of the milk). Oh, and I added 1/2 t. salt. Thick and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2006
Great recipe! It was simple and was soooo good. i used the advice of others and used the chicken broth instead of water and it added o the flavor, it was great. I let it stand for 10 or 15 minutes after taking it out of the oven, so the pie would thicken up a bit, and it turned out great, I mae it tonite for my date and he loved it too, what a great recipe, highly recommended to anyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2006
This was great and very impressive! My family was so surprised when I showed up with this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States