Deep-Dish Cast Iron Pizza Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2014
Be aware: This recipe makes A LOT of pizza dough. I had MORE than enough for my two cast irons, a 12 inch and 8 inch, and even though the dough was super thick. Taste is good, but a lot of dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wayne

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
Using a cast iron skillet is a great idea. Since this makes a lot of dough I made two pizzas; one in a 12 inch skillet and another in a 10 inch skillet. I also subbed one cup of whole wheat flour for one cup of A/P flour because we like a whole wheat type of crust. One pizza was a meat lovers pizza with Italian sausage, ham and pepperoni and the other was a supreme type pizza with meats,green pepper, red onion and mushrooms. I also like extra cheese so I doubled that. Cooked both at 430 degrees for 25 minutes and they were done. Brushed both crusts with the butter and garlic powder mixture. Excellent!!! Will make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Jackson, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2014
I've tried this recipe twice, the first time I used all the dough but it seemed like far too much, 2nd time I used about 1/2 and that was in a massive 15" cast iron skillet. I also added cheese inside the crust with some garlic butter too. Amazing! 1/2 the dough works great and can make two pizzas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
25 minutes is not enough!! It was a soft, doughy mess. I put it back in for another 30 and it was actually cooked
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
Very easy and the dough turned out well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merlion

Cooking Level: Beginning

Photo by geebz
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
This was delicious, easy & fun to make with my son! Directions were easy and the end result was delicious. I would add a little garlic seasoning to sprinkle over the top when you put it in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by geebz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
Wonderful way to make pizza! The whole family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shelley Dima

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kc
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2013
My family loved this pizza. It took longer to bake (at 400 degrees it took 35 min to get golden brown). I followed the crust recipe exactly and I thought the dough was the right amount for a "deep dish" pizza. I upped the cheese from 1/3 cup per layer to 2/3 cup per layer and will even go a little heavier next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2013
I have a "Pizza Maker", which is basically a deep dish pizza pan with a heating element. You put everything together in it and close the lid and it bakes the pizza. I have been looking for a dough recipe that made the right amount, since most make too much. This was it. It came out amazing. I took it from the pizza maker and stuck it under the broiler for a few mins to brown the cheese and it was perfect. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dsb9938

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edison, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Magnolia Blossom
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
Great recipe, pizza crust was chewy, but not tough. I added more cheese. Instead of canned or jarred pizza sauce, I used "Delicious Pizza Sauce Recipe" from allrecipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Magnolia Blossom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lostant, Illinois, USA
Living In: Magnolia, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pizza with Ham, Asparagus, and Ricotta

See how to make a white pizza with ham, asparagus, and two cheeses.

Potato Pesto and Feta Pizza

See how to make a pesto and potato pizza.

Chef John's Sausage and Egg Pizza

A spicy pizza topped with hot Italian sausage, eggs, and arugula.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States