Deep-Dish Cast Iron Pizza Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2015
I read all the reviews before trying this one and it turned out good. Not great for us though. I took into account the excess dougha Dan planned on making 2 pizzas, one in my 12in skillet and another in my 10in. Made with 'Delicious Pizza Sauce', but toppings were bell pepper, tomato and basil. Plenty of dough for both pizzas. Still came out very thick, but hey, it's supposed to be deep dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westminster, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by courtneytrisha
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2015
The dough was delicious! buttery and soft. But it made waaaay too much! i used some of it to make a breadstick, but my pizza was still extremely thick. I will definitely make this again, I'll just make less dough :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tanya
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2015
Measuring from the top, I used a 10" pan. It was a perfect "Deep dish" pizza, chock full of toppings. I would not want any less dough at all or it would not be a deep dish pizza. Thanks for sharing your recipe, Sara * I added my photo, it is up top in the description now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
Awesome crust recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2014
Be aware: This recipe makes A LOT of pizza dough. I had MORE than enough for my two cast irons, a 12 inch and 8 inch, and even though the dough was super thick. Taste is good, but a lot of dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wayne

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
Using a cast iron skillet is a great idea. Since this makes a lot of dough I made two pizzas; one in a 12 inch skillet and another in a 10 inch skillet. I also subbed one cup of whole wheat flour for one cup of A/P flour because we like a whole wheat type of crust. One pizza was a meat lovers pizza with Italian sausage, ham and pepperoni and the other was a supreme type pizza with meats,green pepper, red onion and mushrooms. I also like extra cheese so I doubled that. Cooked both at 430 degrees for 25 minutes and they were done. Brushed both crusts with the butter and garlic powder mixture. Excellent!!! Will make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lloyd Blackmon
Home Town: Jackson, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2014
I've tried this recipe twice, the first time I used all the dough but it seemed like far too much, 2nd time I used about 1/2 and that was in a massive 15" cast iron skillet. I also added cheese inside the crust with some garlic butter too. Amazing! 1/2 the dough works great and can make two pizzas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
25 minutes is not enough!! It was a soft, doughy mess. I put it back in for another 30 and it was actually cooked
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
Very easy and the dough turned out well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merlion

Cooking Level: Beginning

Photo by geebz
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
This was delicious, easy & fun to make with my son! Directions were easy and the end result was delicious. I would add a little garlic seasoning to sprinkle over the top when you put it in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by geebz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pizza with Ham, Asparagus, and Ricotta

See how to make a white pizza with ham, asparagus, and two cheeses.

Potato Pesto and Feta Pizza

See how to make a pesto and potato pizza.

Chef John's Sausage and Egg Pizza

A spicy pizza topped with hot Italian sausage, eggs, and arugula.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States