Deep Dish Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2007
Great chewy, fudgy brownie IF you eliminate one egg, and add more cocoa (1/4 cup). No baking powder, or else it will rise too much like a cake. Not really deep dish, but just regular size thickness. And make it easy on yourself folks, this can be a one-bowl recipe. I just add all the dry ingredients into the wet mixture and slowly stir until it's all incorporated. Definitely increase cocoa and add 3 tablespoons sugar to compensate. I also used just 1/2 stick of butter and 1/4 cup applesauce and it was super moist and hopefully a smidge healthier. This is a really easy recipe and quick and fun to do with kids. Why use stuff from a box with all those preservatives when this is soooo easy. Bake no longer than 35 min in 8x8 square pan. Tip for all brownie recipes: grease only the bottom of your pan, not the sides to avoid burning or turning too crisp or dark on the sides of the brownies. With a few changes, this one is my master recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
322 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommyFromSeattle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bellevue, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2008
I was pleased with these deep, dark, chocolatey, moist, fudgy brownies. Just for something fun and different I added quartered Oreos to the batter. When the brownies were nearly done I topped them with more crumbled Oreos and miniature marshmallows and popped them under the broiler for a minute or two until the marshmallows were melted and a light golden brown. To gild the lily even further I finished them with a drizzle of melted chocolate chips. It takes a good, reliable recipe to mess with it that much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
208 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2003
LOVE these brownies with my modifications: I only used 2 eggs and omitted the baking powder and I sprinkled chocolate chips on the top. I doubled the recipe and baked in a 9 x 13. These were everything a brownie should be - chewy, fudgy, wonderful! I will make these again and again! Thanks ! ***Update*** Just wanted to let you all know that I made these with baking Splenda and they did beautifully and tasted delicious! *Another Update* - It's been a longtime since I found this recipe, I make it all the time. The only thing I have changed is that we don't use choc chips anymore. This is still a major hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
155 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingsport, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2007
I love how none of the rave reviewers actually followed the recipe. Really people, if you have to change a recipe that much, it hardly warrants a stellar rating. As is, these are not brownies, they're cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
109 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Iowa City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2003
Like other reviewers, I left out the baking powder and used 2 eggs instead of 3. I also used just a tad more unsweetened cocoa than called for...these revisions should give you the "dense, fudgy" result as opposed to the "cakey, light" variety. Otherwise, great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
103 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2006
With the advice of other reviewers.... and how many could go wrong?.... I took and doubled the recipe, used half the eggs called for, increased the cocoa, omited the baking powder and salt, added a hanful of chocolate chips (that did not sink to the bottom) and chopped walnuts, poured it in a metal 9x13 pan, and baked it for 35 minutes after toothpick test rated it done. The results were Deep Dish Brownies to Die for! They were even better the next day! All my family enjoyed them, and this recipe is just as fast preparing as a box mix but the finished product is MUCH better then ANY box mix! Try it, you'll be glad you did!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Bedford, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2005
These brownies tasted great! They even get the nice little flaky layer on top! I waited until they completely cooled before cutting. I also only used 2 eggs and omitted the baking powder, but you shouldn't listen to other reviewers when they say it only needs to baked for half an hour. The recipe says to bake 40 to 45 minutes, I did 40, and even after they cooled, the middle brownies were still battery in the center, and you could taste the rawness. My friend liked it because she likes gooey things but I myself prefer the taste of doneness. So if you know that you have an oven that usually bakes things a bit faster than others, decrease the baking time, by all means. But if you usually have to bake things for a longer time than the recipe calls for (like me) then stick to the suggested baking time and maybe even extend it a little. Not all ovens are the same, so basically just know what type of oven you have.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2002
I added 1/2 cup chocolate chips and 1/2 cup pecans and they were wonderful! This is absolutely the best brownie I have ever eaten in my life (actually those were my husband's EXACT words). Someone below compared them to another recipe on this site, The Best Brownies, but I think they are 100 times better than those!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2002
We had searched and tried to find the perfect brownie on allrecipes.com and the search has officially ended. These are fudgey and dense brownies and have a unique and marvelous flavor! We added lots of chocolate shavings (about a cup). These brownies rock and if you are searching for THE PERFECT BROWNIE......your search is over!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2002
I took these to a potluck, and everyone loved them, even people who normally don't like brownies. The half cup of chocolate chips makes it extra fudgey. Put them in! I substituted 1/4 cup butter with applesauce, and the brownies were still really buttery. To make a more fudgey, uncakelike brownie, I had to make these adjustments: add an extra tbsp of cocoa powder, leave out baking powder, and put in only two eggs. Also, don't cut the brownies too small, or else they will fall apart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 779) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Brownies

See how to make amazing homemade brownies in less than an hour.

Mmm-Mmm Better Brownies

See how to make a brownie even better!

Gluten-Free Fudge Brownies

See how to make 5-star flour-free fudge brownies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States