Deep Dish Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
4.5 stars. I followed some of the reviewers and made some adjustments: 1/2 c butter, 1 c sugar, 2 eggs, 3/4 cup cocoa powder, no baking powder. Well, I dunno if it was b/c I cut out a significant part of the liquid, but there just seemed like too much dry ingredients in the end. I moistened it with a minimal amount of milk, but then there was not enough batter to fill the 8x8 pan. So I made these in cupcake tins, and it worked out fine. I did over-cook a little...they firm up very quickly in the end when you do it in cupcakes, so I'd rec really watching them. I don't remember if other reviewers had problems with not enough batter, but I will double the recipe next time. They tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
doubled for 9x13; 4 eggs instead of 6
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
This recipe tasted fine but it is definitely not chewy brownies. When made following the recipe 100%, they are spongy and cake-y. Don't be fooled by the high rating, most of the 5 star reviews have drastically modified the recipe to give it that rating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
Used one less egg and took out the baking powder, but still too cakelike. I also tried gentle mixing so that it wouldn't fluff up. The recipe is easy and tastes ok, but I guess I'll keep looking. Try adding some OJ, orange marmalade, and/or orange oil to taste - it made a pretty good orange brownie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by foperators

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
Made exactly how recipe stated. They were quite good, but they are more of a cake than a brownie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
Excellent, moist. easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
Made these exactly as original recipe stated, with an additional 1/4 c of cocoa powder and we LOVE them! Favorite Brownie Recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kathleen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2011
This is a fantastic recipe! I had decided to try my hand at homemade brownies and stumbled upon this recipe. Am I glad that I did! These brownies never last more than 10 minutes once they are cool enough to eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss S

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
My family loves this recipe, we have made it several times and will continue to do so.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2011
Im guilty of rating this recipe AFTER making these modifications: 2 eggs, no baking powder, 1 1/4C. sugar and 1 C. cocoa powder. It makes a rich, chewy, brownie. I also add 3/4 C. chopped, toasted walnuts. For an extra special occasional treat frost with a chocolate ganache. Yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alexis

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orland, California, USA
Living In: Red Bluff, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 786) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Brownies

See how to make amazing homemade brownies in less than an hour.

Mmm-Mmm Better Brownies

See how to make a brownie even better!

Gluten-Free Fudge Brownies

See how to make 5-star flour-free fudge brownies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States