Deep Dish Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2008
This was my first attempt at homemade brownies and they were extremely fudgy and rich! According to all the other reviews, I also used only 2 eggs and left out the baking powder. I didn't necessarily LOVE these brownies, I personally thought they tasted very buttery how I made them. (Living in Australia, I'm trying to get used to all the different ingredients here too!) I'm giving them 4 stars though because my husband took them to a work function and came home with a completely empty plate and said that everyone RAVED over them! I plan to keep looking around for a perfect homemade brownie recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karis T.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Katy, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2008
i omitted the baking soda and added an extra egg & 1/4 c extra cocoa. it took about 40 minutes to get the middle done, but the top got really hard. the next day they were even harder on top! great flavor, but i'm disappointed with how hard the top was....i'll have to figure out how to fix that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by prissyhippie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: South Hill, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2008
Exceptionally good chocolate flavour in these brownies. I followed this quick and easy recipe as stated. The texture on top had that wonderful chewyness enjoyed by most brownie lovers. I did find the rest to be cakelike which is good but I would prefer a denser quality. I see some reviewers changed the eggs and baking powder to achieve this texture. I may try doing that when I make them again. Cheers to Biz McMahon for a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cynjne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
Without a doubt the best brownies I have ever had. We sell these at bake sales and charge double what we are charging for other brownies and these always sell out first! Double the recipe and make in a large pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Thunder Bay, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2008
Very good brownie recipe. My family's average rating was a 4. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2008
I omitted the baking powder, added only 2 eggs and 1/4 cup more cocoa like others suggested... and they were AMAZING!!! I'm ADDICTED!! By far the best from scratch recipe! This is one I'll continue to make from here on out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2008
These brownies taste AMAZING!!! My only complaint is that they are too hard on the outside and too crumbly on the inside...and not fudgey-crumbly but dry-crumbly. I'm only used to brownies being that way if it's time to throw them out. Even fresh out the oven they're a little hard, but once they cool, they're pretty deceiving because you wouldn't expect a seemingly stale brownie to taste so good. Not really sure what needs to be done to keep them from hardening so much. I've baked them at various time intervals, and they always turn out the same. Maybe a more experienced chef could figure this one out???
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by roanerangers

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Aubrey, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2008
I went ahead and made all the changes, 2 eggs, xtra cocoa and sugar, no baking powder, and they were amazing! I even put chocolate chips on top. I'm sad- I'll never be able to eat a boxed brownie again :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 4thegospel

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2008
most amazing brownies ever. read other reviews so i added 1/4c cocoa powder, an additional 3tsp splenda, and extra chocolate chips to make it even more chocolatey. it's so easy and delicious that i vow to never make "box brownies" again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Milia
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2008
If you like deep chocolatey brownies, this brownie recipe does NOT need a lot of vanilla! I've been making it with the suggestions listed (2 eggs, omit baking powder, increase cocoa) and only 1 tsp vanilla because of the expense... but yesterday I ran out of vanilla and made them without. They were, if possible, even more delicious than they were before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 786) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Brownies

See how to make amazing homemade brownies in less than an hour.

Mmm-Mmm Better Brownies

See how to make a brownie even better!

Gluten-Free Fudge Brownies

See how to make 5-star flour-free fudge brownies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States