Deep Dish Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
This brownie recipe is easy and delicious. Note: they are better the second day; their flavor develops, and they become softer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
Good, but a little on the sweet, sugary side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beckyp382

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lebanon, Oregon, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2008
As it is written I didnt like them, and I am a choco-freak. I did what others did, omitted an egg, added 1/4 cup more cocoa, less sugar, and I used 1 /3 c of oil, no butter, no baking powder.. Then, they were straight out of Willy Wonka heaven! So, three stars as it is written, and 5 stars doing what most cooks on here suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
this is a great brownie recipe and i don't really like chocolate. i took the advice of some reviews and used only 2 eggs. i also baked these in an 8x8 dish and they were a good size. they are rather rich so a little goes a long way. they are a super easy one bowl dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jamie820

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ewing, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
It's okay. Very rich,but definitely different from any other type of brownie i've tasted. I'm not sure if it's because I made it from scratch and could see everything going into it, but at times it seemed to taste too rich to the point of tasting the pure sugar/butter that went into it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2008
It's very possible that I somehow screwed up but my brownies turned out quite flat, but ok tasting. The icing was really not a necessity nor did it make them better. If I made this again I would leave out the honey of the icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2008
This was my first attempt at homemade brownies and they were extremely fudgy and rich! According to all the other reviews, I also used only 2 eggs and left out the baking powder. I didn't necessarily LOVE these brownies, I personally thought they tasted very buttery how I made them. (Living in Australia, I'm trying to get used to all the different ingredients here too!) I'm giving them 4 stars though because my husband took them to a work function and came home with a completely empty plate and said that everyone RAVED over them! I plan to keep looking around for a perfect homemade brownie recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karis T.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Katy, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2008
i omitted the baking soda and added an extra egg & 1/4 c extra cocoa. it took about 40 minutes to get the middle done, but the top got really hard. the next day they were even harder on top! great flavor, but i'm disappointed with how hard the top was....i'll have to figure out how to fix that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by prissyhippie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: South Hill, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2008
Exceptionally good chocolate flavour in these brownies. I followed this quick and easy recipe as stated. The texture on top had that wonderful chewyness enjoyed by most brownie lovers. I did find the rest to be cakelike which is good but I would prefer a denser quality. I see some reviewers changed the eggs and baking powder to achieve this texture. I may try doing that when I make them again. Cheers to Biz McMahon for a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cynjne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
Without a doubt the best brownies I have ever had. We sell these at bake sales and charge double what we are charging for other brownies and these always sell out first! Double the recipe and make in a large pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Thunder Bay, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 792) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mmm-Mmm Better Brownies

See how to make a brownie even better!

MMMMM... Brownies

These chocolate brownies from scratch are easy, moist, and delicious.

Gluten-Free Fudge Brownies

See how to make 5-star flour-free fudge brownies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States