Deep Dish Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: May 19, 2009
I've been looking for a good brownie recipe, something rich and soft. After trying several, this is the best I've found. I cover mine so that they don't get crusty on top, and they come out great. I've even used yogurt instead of butter, it doesn't come out as rich, but it I like to think it's a little healthier that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2009
I took other reviewers advice and only used 2 eggs, substituted 1/4 C apple sauce for butter, reduced baking powder to 1/4 tsp, used a heaping 1/2 C unsweetened cocoa powder, added 1/4 C coarsely chopped dark chocolate pieces, and 1/4 C chopped walnuts. I kept it everything else the same. I cannot believe how good these turned out. I will never buy another boxed brownie mix. I have tried various recipes, but they always came out "cakey". I cannot express how good this recipe is. Thank you so much for the recipe, and the ideas from other reviewers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yuma, Arizona, USA
Living In: Diamondhead, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2009
Very good brownie! I omitted the baking powder and everyone loved them. Next time I'll not change a thing and see how it tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2009
Good overall, esp if you like more of heavy cake like quality. Added walnuts are good. I found that 40-45 minutes was too much. My brownies were done all the way through at about 30-35 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2009
These had a very cakey texture to them. But the overall flavor wasn't terrible. Maybe next time I will add some cinnamon and leave out an egg and the baking powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2009
These are awesome! I love cake-like brownies and these are the best. I definitely encourage adding a little more unsweetened cocoa powder... probably more like 2/3 or close to 3/4 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sjbm3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coldwater, Michigan, USA
Living In: Grandville, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
very rich and yummy!!!..my favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
I thought these brownies wonderful. They were very rich. Everyone loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Lake Forest Park, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2009
It was very bitter if you follow the recipe. However, adding chocolate chips and more cocoa powder made them wonderful! I love how deep they are. So, this is the rating for the original recipe. I would rate the updated recipe much higher!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2009
These brownies are good, but not the best that I have ever had. I made the recipe-get ready for this-without changing anything! I wanted to see how they would turn out without changes. Very good, a bit cakey but overall a good brownie recipe. Maybe if I make again, I will take advice of other reviewers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JESSICA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 795) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mmm-Mmm Better Brownies

See how to make a brownie even better!

MMMMM... Brownies

These chocolate brownies from scratch are easy, moist, and delicious.

Gluten-Free Fudge Brownies

See how to make 5-star flour-free fudge brownies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States