Deep Dish Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2009
I made the recipe in a 9x13 pan without doubling, and the brownies turned out great. I like thinner, fudgy brownies so I incorporated changes described by other reviewers. I used 2 eggs, 1 cup sugar, 1/2 stick of butter, 1/4 unsweetened applesauce, 3/4 cup of flour, and 1/2 cup of dutch process cocoa. Lining the pan with parchment paper was very important as it prevented the brownies from sticking without adding calories. I also baked for 20 minutes, which left the brownies just a touch overdone. For a 9x13 pan, I probably should have baked for 15-18 minutes. The recipe was delicious, I am just not sure if it is better than store mixes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bel Air, Maryland, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2009
I can only give 3 stars because I don't really care for the original recipe. They aren't brownies by ANY means - it turns out to be cake. Like some other reviewers, I made some revisions and they turned out AMAZING. I only used 1/2 c. butter, added 1/4 c. applesauce, upped the cocoa to 3/4 c, omitted the baking powder completely, and added about 3/4 c. chocolate chips. With these, they're absolutely amazing, and the perfect fix for any chocoholic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BakingNerd

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harker Heights, Texas, USA
Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GwynR
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2009
I loved how simple it is and how flexible the recipe is (many alterations suggested!). I made with two eggs, 1/4 tsp baking powder and 3/4 cup cocoa. It was perfect for my daughter's birthday 'cake'. They had just enough substance to stack nice and high!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GwynR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cambridge, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2009
Help!!!! I am a Brownie Lover and these Brownies were not even close to a great Brownie. The crappy box version was far better. I made this recipe 3 times using The orignal then the two other suggestions from the reviews including adding the special dark chocolate unsweetned with a less than favorable result. The one bowl Brownies came out better and I so wanted to taste the decadence that was raved about...Just wasn't there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2009
Like other reviewers, I also eliminate one egg and the baking powder. These brownies are especially good if you add something like chocolate chips, nuts, or a cream cheese marble topping. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2009
I woke up Sunday morning forgetting I had volunteered to bring brownies to the kids church - jumped online and found this recipe! I modified the recipe as suggested to using 2 eggs, no baking powder, used 3/4th cup of cocoa powder, and added 3 add'l tablespoons of sugar. These are awesome brownies! Better than the box...highly recommended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2009
I made these using the modifications noted in other comments. 2 eggs, 3/4 c coca powder, no baking powder. They were fantastic!! Very easy, moist, and chocolatey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2009
These were wonderful and very moist! I used 2 eggs and added some semi sweet chocolate chips and pecans. I also made a batch with 5th avenue toffee chips and that was so yummy :-P This recipe is good by itself but if i had to pick a fave from all the batches I have made I would say use toffee chips you will be amazed at how sinful and delicious it is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mamascooking

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bennington, Kansas, USA
Living In: Kingston Springs, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2009
These were really great. Very rich and easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2009
I've been looking for a good brownie recipe, something rich and soft. After trying several, this is the best I've found. I cover mine so that they don't get crusty on top, and they come out great. I've even used yogurt instead of butter, it doesn't come out as rich, but it I like to think it's a little healthier that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 794) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mmm-Mmm Better Brownies

See how to make a brownie even better!

MMMMM... Brownies

These chocolate brownies from scratch are easy, moist, and delicious.

Gluten-Free Fudge Brownies

See how to make 5-star flour-free fudge brownies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States