Deep Dark Old Recipe Bran Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2013
used blueberries - tastes better than I expected. With so little sugar and no vanilla called for I was worried they would be bland muffins, not as dark as I expected-no where near the picture. A little dry. Would make again but would soak the bran in the buttermilk to try to make them a little more moist
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
A delicious recipe that is easy to customize to your liking! Here are the changes I made: subbed coconut oil for vegetable shortening subbed crushed bran cereal for bran (couldn't track any down!) subbed dried, sweetened cherries for raisins added roughly chopped walnuts baked in two small loaves instead of muffins These freeze and reheat well, they are delicious and even though they are healthy they taste decadent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
I've tried 4 bran muffin recipes in the past 4 days and this is our favourite. Moist, great flavour, and healthy bran fiber! I used vegetable oil instead of melted shortening and fresh blueberries instead of the raisins. Thanks for posting! I will be making this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzy Q

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Airdrie, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2012
I have been looking for a recipe like this for a long time and so happy to now have one that is PERFECT! These are exceptional. Rich in bran and good 'ole fashioned wholesomeness. Wow! I like the flavor of molasses so I used brown sugar instead of white and sub'd out 1/2 cup of regular flour for white whole wheat and used coconut oil instead of shortening (same idea they both are solid fats). I made half the recipe and used a lightley greased 8" cake pan then served sliced in wedges. I know I will be making this recipe often. Thanks LorrieT1 for sharing this wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda (LMT)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Reviewed: May 18, 2012
These were just what I was looking for, I used to make a similar muffin but misplaced the recipe. I don't have veg. shortening so used a combination of safflower and coconut oils - I poured in a quarter cup before I realized my mistake, no harm done as far as I can tell. Great recipe, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2012
Not quite enough flavor yet but with some simple adjustments I'm pretty sure this can be a 5 star recipe (less salt, more fruit - apples seem like a good idea, some whole wheat flour). Worth playing with as the bran and molasses combo are exactly what I've been looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2012
I made these for breakfast before work this morning. They are easy to make and have a tender moist center and a crusty top. YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2012
These are, hands down, the best wheat bran muffins i've tried by far. And trust me, I've tried my fair share of bran muffins. I actually used the same amount of mashed banana in place of the shortening, cause I didn't have any shortening. But seriously. These are AMAZING. And healthy! Try it! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2012
Excellent! Used 1/2 c applesauce with 1 c plain nonfat yogurt instead of buttermilk. Next time will add nuts. Not dry at all. Also baked as a loaf for 1 hr.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2012
These were absolutely delicious...followed the recipe and added some cardamom, nutmeg, and allspice to give it a bit of sweet spiciness. They are moist and have great texture. Saved the recipe and will be a favorite in our household. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Classic Bran Muffins

These muffins are full of fiber, yet are also moist and very tasty.

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

These muffins are so moist and flavorful, you won't believe they're healthy, too!

Toddler Muffins

Even finicky toddlers love these magical mini-muffins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States