Deep Dark Old Recipe Bran Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2015
I live this recipe. It has the richness from the molasses that I haven't found in many other recipes! I made it as is and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2015
Good, old school bran muffins! 4 yr old said "They taste like REAL muffins!" and I agree - unlike store bought "cake" muffins, they are dry, which we loved. Had no molasses on hand so added a bit of brown sugar, used 1c buttermilk and 1/2c applesauce, and coconut oil instead of shortening. Also used 1c frozen blueberries instead of raisins - added to dry ingredients to prevent colour bleeding. The kids devoured them! Thanks for sharing LorrieT1!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Queen Llemon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Karen
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2014
I love this recipe! I make giant muffins the recipe is perfect for 6 giant muffins. I just add 5 minutes to the bake time. I also add some spices for a little extra flavor. Cinnamon, nutmeg, and cloves. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2014
A nice muffin to go with your morning coffee, or tea.I used coconut milk(lactose) and Kelloggs all Bran, did not add raisins to these and I found the molasses flavor a bit strong, but i will make these again. Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by manella

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2014
I did increase the molasses bit and omit the sugar and add vanilla but otherwise I thought this recipe was really delicious. I do not like my muffin sweet at all hence the omissions. This is one of the best muffin recipes I have found in quite a while.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2014
This was my second time making these terrific, rich in fiber muffins. First time, used all ingredients but substituted raisins for shredded carrots and added chopped walnuts. Also changed bran to rolled oats. They were delicious! Second time, added chopped almonds, shredded carrots instead of raisins, and shredded coconut. Also increased white sugar from 1/2 cup to 1 cup; we seem to like our muffins more to the sweeter side. Rolled oats instead of bran. Whatever you choose to add is great...been looking for a muffin that has more oats than flour. Even looks like a muffin you'd buy in a bakery. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2013
used blueberries - tastes better than I expected. With so little sugar and no vanilla called for I was worried they would be bland muffins, not as dark as I expected-no where near the picture. A little dry. Would make again but would soak the bran in the buttermilk to try to make them a little more moist
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
A delicious recipe that is easy to customize to your liking! Here are the changes I made: subbed coconut oil for vegetable shortening subbed crushed bran cereal for bran (couldn't track any down!) subbed dried, sweetened cherries for raisins added roughly chopped walnuts baked in two small loaves instead of muffins These freeze and reheat well, they are delicious and even though they are healthy they taste decadent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
I've tried 4 bran muffin recipes in the past 4 days and this is our favourite. Moist, great flavour, and healthy bran fiber! I used vegetable oil instead of melted shortening and fresh blueberries instead of the raisins. Thanks for posting! I will be making this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzy Q

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Airdrie, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2012
I have been looking for a recipe like this for a long time and so happy to now have one that is PERFECT! These are exceptional. Rich in bran and good 'ole fashioned wholesomeness. Wow! I like the flavor of molasses so I used brown sugar instead of white and sub'd out 1/2 cup of regular flour for white whole wheat and used coconut oil instead of shortening (same idea they both are solid fats). I made half the recipe and used a lightley greased 8" cake pan then served sliced in wedges. I know I will be making this recipe often. Thanks LorrieT1 for sharing this wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda (LMT)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Classic Bran Muffins

These muffins are full of fiber, yet are also moist and very tasty.

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

These muffins are so moist and flavorful, you won't believe they're healthy, too!

Toddler Muffins

Even finicky toddlers love these magical mini-muffins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States