Deep Dark Old Recipe Bran Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2011
Wonderfully moist. I used brown sugar in place of white and added both pecans and currants
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
Fast and easy. Found my new bran muffin recipe!! Added dates instead of raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joel's mom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MIKEY
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
HOLY YUMTASTIC!!!! By far the best bran muffin I've ever had, will need to be buying bran by the truckload now haha. I actually omitted the sugar and oil, and added in a shredded apple to make up for it in terms of moistness. They were fantastically moist and tasty. Will make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
I doubled the recipe the first time I made it and as I was chopping raisins and remembering how much work it is to bake from scratch, I thought, "boy, these better be worth it." ...and they ARE worth it! I didn't adjust for altitude (because I don't know how), so I don't think they are as high as they should be, but they are moist and delicious with a wee pat of butter, warm out of the oven. Will definitely make these again and I might put in more raisins next time. Thank you for sharing your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mahwah, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
I love these wonderful moist muffins. Only change was that I substituted veg. oil for the shortening as that is what I had on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
Really absolutely delicious muffins, so moist too. This will be a new staple recipe for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2010
I am really enjoying this for the second time - right now! I used spelt bran; let any bran soak for a few minutes in the bowl of wet ingredients so it's nice and moist coming out of the oven. I also used a buttermilk/yogurt combo, and a healthy oil because I hate measuring solid shortening. If you are not a bran muffin purist (mine is in a loaf), I recommend adding an additional cup of dried fruit (apricots, prunes) and nuts. Oh, and I like molasses so I increased to 1/3 cup. Good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2010
I thought these were wonderful. Some reviewers commented that theirs were dry. I didn't think they were dry at all. I did use honey rather than molasses, just because I didn't have any molasses on hand. Maybe that's why they were a little moister? The kids even loved them. These taste a lot like the bran muffins my grandmother made when I was little but not as dense. I will be making these again soon. Maybe real soon if my kids keep eating them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Danville, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2010
these are fantastic! Only thing I did different was to sub 1/2 vanilla flavored yogurt (Danone) and 1 c milk for the buttermilk (since i did not have buttermilk). Yummy! Will make again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
I like the flavor of these muffins. Since we always spread margarine over the top anyways, I did not think that being too dry was an issue.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smithers, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Grants Pass, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Classic Bran Muffins

These muffins are full of fiber, yet are also moist and very tasty.

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

These muffins are so moist and flavorful, you won't believe they're healthy, too!

Toddler Muffins

Even finicky toddlers love these magical mini-muffins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States