Deep Dark Old Recipe Bran Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by anpa
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2010
I was excited to try this recipe, since it is hard to find the dark bran recipe, and although I wasn’t blown away, they were not a disappointment. I did make some changes: I substituted the buttermilk with plain yogurt, the white sugar for brown, and shortening for margarine (trying to make them even more healthy). I also opted for blueberries rather than the raisins. I loved how moist they were inside, with a nice crust on top, and they expanded really nicely. I did think that the molasses taste was a little strong for me, and I like molasses, but after serving them at my 2 ½ year old’s play date, both the kids and moms really liked the flavour. I think next time I will half the molasses and put some applesauce in and see how it works. Definitely a great, high-fiber snack for kids and adults alike!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MIKEY
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
HOLY YUMTASTIC!!!! By far the best bran muffin I've ever had, will need to be buying bran by the truckload now haha. I actually omitted the sugar and oil, and added in a shredded apple to make up for it in terms of moistness. They were fantastically moist and tasty. Will make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2010
I am really enjoying this for the second time - right now! I used spelt bran; let any bran soak for a few minutes in the bowl of wet ingredients so it's nice and moist coming out of the oven. I also used a buttermilk/yogurt combo, and a healthy oil because I hate measuring solid shortening. If you are not a bran muffin purist (mine is in a loaf), I recommend adding an additional cup of dried fruit (apricots, prunes) and nuts. Oh, and I like molasses so I increased to 1/3 cup. Good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2010
It was nice to find a recipe that didn't call for bran ceral. I am following a low GI diet so I made a few changes and the muffins came out great! First I changed the all-purpose flour to whole wheat flour, I also used 1 cup oat bran and 1 1/2 cups wheat bran, I changed the shortening to heart healthy canola oil and the sugar to splenda. I increased the baking soda to 2 teaspoons and the buttermilk to 1 3/4 cups. I also added 1t of vanilla, 1t of cinnamon, 1/2t ginger, clove, nutmeg. I also added 1/2 cup chopped walnuts. Even though I made so many changes it was a great starter recipe! I will be using it in the future. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annette Platzner

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sedro Woolley, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
a great start to a recipe. I solved the dryness problem that was encountered by so many reviewers by substituting one 16-ounce can of pumpkin for the equivalent volume of buttermilk, and they were extremely moist. Also I used oat flour and doubled the molasses and tossed in 1/3 cup of bittersweet chocolate mini-chips. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shoshi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hercules, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
These turned out great! Being on the healthy and frugal side here is the substitution I made instead of using white sugar and molases: I had in the fridge some "fiber bomb"* (I'll post recipe right away) which is dried fruit simmered in plain water until they turn syrupy. I measured the fruit syrup to 3/4 cup and chopped 1/2 cup of the fruit right on the dry ingredients and tossed (or they would drop to the bottoms of the muffins during baking). Healthfully fruity and moistly dark.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Englewood, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Athens, Attica, Greece

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2011
Awesome! I used whole wheat, millet and oat flours in place of the all purpose flour. Left out the white sugar (with the raisins, plenty sweet enough for me) and used coconut oil in place of the vegetable shortening. Deep, Dark and Wholesome - love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Netsy3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mansfield, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2012
These are, hands down, the best wheat bran muffins i've tried by far. And trust me, I've tried my fair share of bran muffins. I actually used the same amount of mashed banana in place of the shortening, cause I didn't have any shortening. But seriously. These are AMAZING. And healthy! Try it! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
OMG! These are the best Bran muffins I've ever made or eaten for that matter. I used black strap molasses and these bad boys are so moist and delicious even my picky husband went bonkers for these. I made a batch with copies of the recipe to hand samples out to family and friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wrightsville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2012
I have been looking for a recipe like this for a long time and so happy to now have one that is PERFECT! These are exceptional. Rich in bran and good 'ole fashioned wholesomeness. Wow! I like the flavor of molasses so I used brown sugar instead of white and sub'd out 1/2 cup of regular flour for white whole wheat and used coconut oil instead of shortening (same idea they both are solid fats). I made half the recipe and used a lightley greased 8" cake pan then served sliced in wedges. I know I will be making this recipe often. Thanks LorrieT1 for sharing this wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda (LMT)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Classic Bran Muffins

These muffins are full of fiber, yet are also moist and very tasty.

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

These muffins are so moist and flavorful, you won't believe they're healthy, too!

Toddler Muffins

Even finicky toddlers love these magical mini-muffins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States