Deep Dark Old Recipe Bran Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 19, 2010
Too molassas-ey for me, but the family liked them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SooperLowa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2010
I thought these were wonderful. Some reviewers commented that theirs were dry. I didn't think they were dry at all. I did use honey rather than molasses, just because I didn't have any molasses on hand. Maybe that's why they were a little moister? The kids even loved them. These taste a lot like the bran muffins my grandmother made when I was little but not as dense. I will be making these again soon. Maybe real soon if my kids keep eating them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Danville, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
I made a few changes. I used fat free sour cream instead of buttermilk, found them a dryer than I expected, this may be the reason I used brown sugar instead of white. Also used dates and walnuts, no raisans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pamjlee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
These were pretty dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2010
It was nice to find a recipe that didn't call for bran ceral. I am following a low GI diet so I made a few changes and the muffins came out great! First I changed the all-purpose flour to whole wheat flour, I also used 1 cup oat bran and 1 1/2 cups wheat bran, I changed the shortening to heart healthy canola oil and the sugar to splenda. I increased the baking soda to 2 teaspoons and the buttermilk to 1 3/4 cups. I also added 1t of vanilla, 1t of cinnamon, 1/2t ginger, clove, nutmeg. I also added 1/2 cup chopped walnuts. Even though I made so many changes it was a great starter recipe! I will be using it in the future. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annette Platzner

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sedro Woolley, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2010
I am really enjoying this for the second time - right now! I used spelt bran; let any bran soak for a few minutes in the bowl of wet ingredients so it's nice and moist coming out of the oven. I also used a buttermilk/yogurt combo, and a healthy oil because I hate measuring solid shortening. If you are not a bran muffin purist (mine is in a loaf), I recommend adding an additional cup of dried fruit (apricots, prunes) and nuts. Oh, and I like molasses so I increased to 1/3 cup. Good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
Not bad, but not great (IMO).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by anpa
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2010
I was excited to try this recipe, since it is hard to find the dark bran recipe, and although I wasn’t blown away, they were not a disappointment. I did make some changes: I substituted the buttermilk with plain yogurt, the white sugar for brown, and shortening for margarine (trying to make them even more healthy). I also opted for blueberries rather than the raisins. I loved how moist they were inside, with a nice crust on top, and they expanded really nicely. I did think that the molasses taste was a little strong for me, and I like molasses, but after serving them at my 2 ½ year old’s play date, both the kids and moms really liked the flavour. I think next time I will half the molasses and put some applesauce in and see how it works. Definitely a great, high-fiber snack for kids and adults alike!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-38 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Classic Bran Muffins

These muffins are full of fiber, yet are also moist and very tasty.

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

These muffins are so moist and flavorful, you won't believe they're healthy, too!

Toddler Muffins

Even finicky toddlers love these magical mini-muffins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States