Deep Dark Old Recipe Bran Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
This recipe is terrific. A hearty, good-for-you muffin. I substitute 1/2 cup honey for the sugar and for the flour I use half white, half whole wheat. Then I toss in some chopped walnuts along with the raisins. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2011
Awesome! I used whole wheat, millet and oat flours in place of the all purpose flour. Left out the white sugar (with the raisins, plenty sweet enough for me) and used coconut oil in place of the vegetable shortening. Deep, Dark and Wholesome - love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Netsy3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mansfield, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
I love these wonderful moist muffins. Only change was that I substituted veg. oil for the shortening as that is what I had on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
Fast and easy. Found my new bran muffin recipe!! Added dates instead of raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joel's mom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2011
Wonderfully moist. I used brown sugar in place of white and added both pecans and currants
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
Really absolutely delicious muffins, so moist too. This will be a new staple recipe for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MIKEY
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
HOLY YUMTASTIC!!!! By far the best bran muffin I've ever had, will need to be buying bran by the truckload now haha. I actually omitted the sugar and oil, and added in a shredded apple to make up for it in terms of moistness. They were fantastically moist and tasty. Will make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
I like the flavor of these muffins. Since we always spread margarine over the top anyways, I did not think that being too dry was an issue.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smithers, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Grants Pass, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
I doubled the recipe the first time I made it and as I was chopping raisins and remembering how much work it is to bake from scratch, I thought, "boy, these better be worth it." ...and they ARE worth it! I didn't adjust for altitude (because I don't know how), so I don't think they are as high as they should be, but they are moist and delicious with a wee pat of butter, warm out of the oven. Will definitely make these again and I might put in more raisins next time. Thank you for sharing your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mahwah, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
a great start to a recipe. I solved the dryness problem that was encountered by so many reviewers by substituting one 16-ounce can of pumpkin for the equivalent volume of buttermilk, and they were extremely moist. Also I used oat flour and doubled the molasses and tossed in 1/3 cup of bittersweet chocolate mini-chips. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shoshi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hercules, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Classic Bran Muffins

These muffins are full of fiber, yet are also moist and very tasty.

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

These muffins are so moist and flavorful, you won't believe they're healthy, too!

Toddler Muffins

Even finicky toddlers love these magical mini-muffins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States