Deep Dark Old Recipe Bran Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
I doubled the recipe the first time I made it and as I was chopping raisins and remembering how much work it is to bake from scratch, I thought, "boy, these better be worth it." ...and they ARE worth it! I didn't adjust for altitude (because I don't know how), so I don't think they are as high as they should be, but they are moist and delicious with a wee pat of butter, warm out of the oven. Will definitely make these again and I might put in more raisins next time. Thank you for sharing your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mahwah, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
a great start to a recipe. I solved the dryness problem that was encountered by so many reviewers by substituting one 16-ounce can of pumpkin for the equivalent volume of buttermilk, and they were extremely moist. Also I used oat flour and doubled the molasses and tossed in 1/3 cup of bittersweet chocolate mini-chips. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shoshi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hercules, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
These turned out great! Being on the healthy and frugal side here is the substitution I made instead of using white sugar and molases: I had in the fridge some "fiber bomb"* (I'll post recipe right away) which is dried fruit simmered in plain water until they turn syrupy. I measured the fruit syrup to 3/4 cup and chopped 1/2 cup of the fruit right on the dry ingredients and tossed (or they would drop to the bottoms of the muffins during baking). Healthfully fruity and moistly dark.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Englewood, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Athens, Attica, Greece

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2010
these are fantastic! Only thing I did different was to sub 1/2 vanilla flavored yogurt (Danone) and 1 c milk for the buttermilk (since i did not have buttermilk). Yummy! Will make again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2010
Too molassas-ey for me, but the family liked them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SooperLowa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2010
I thought these were wonderful. Some reviewers commented that theirs were dry. I didn't think they were dry at all. I did use honey rather than molasses, just because I didn't have any molasses on hand. Maybe that's why they were a little moister? The kids even loved them. These taste a lot like the bran muffins my grandmother made when I was little but not as dense. I will be making these again soon. Maybe real soon if my kids keep eating them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Danville, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
I made a few changes. I used fat free sour cream instead of buttermilk, found them a dryer than I expected, this may be the reason I used brown sugar instead of white. Also used dates and walnuts, no raisans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pamjlee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
These were pretty dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2010
It was nice to find a recipe that didn't call for bran ceral. I am following a low GI diet so I made a few changes and the muffins came out great! First I changed the all-purpose flour to whole wheat flour, I also used 1 cup oat bran and 1 1/2 cups wheat bran, I changed the shortening to heart healthy canola oil and the sugar to splenda. I increased the baking soda to 2 teaspoons and the buttermilk to 1 3/4 cups. I also added 1t of vanilla, 1t of cinnamon, 1/2t ginger, clove, nutmeg. I also added 1/2 cup chopped walnuts. Even though I made so many changes it was a great starter recipe! I will be using it in the future. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AnnetteRose

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sedro Woolley, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2010
I am really enjoying this for the second time - right now! I used spelt bran; let any bran soak for a few minutes in the bowl of wet ingredients so it's nice and moist coming out of the oven. I also used a buttermilk/yogurt combo, and a healthy oil because I hate measuring solid shortening. If you are not a bran muffin purist (mine is in a loaf), I recommend adding an additional cup of dried fruit (apricots, prunes) and nuts. Oh, and I like molasses so I increased to 1/3 cup. Good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Classic Bran Muffins

These muffins are full of fiber, yet are also moist and very tasty.

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

These muffins are so moist and flavorful, you won't believe they're healthy, too!

Toddler Muffins

Even finicky toddlers love these magical mini-muffins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States