Deep Dark Old Recipe Bran Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2012
These were absolutely delicious...followed the recipe and added some cardamom, nutmeg, and allspice to give it a bit of sweet spiciness. They are moist and have great texture. Saved the recipe and will be a favorite in our household. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
OMG! These are the best Bran muffins I've ever made or eaten for that matter. I used black strap molasses and these bad boys are so moist and delicious even my picky husband went bonkers for these. I made a batch with copies of the recipe to hand samples out to family and friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wrightsville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
A nice bran muffin. I wished it was a bit sticky though. I thought the molasses might achieve that. Next time i will use whole wheat flour and brown sugar like a few of the others. I will keep this recipe but will go on searching for a gooey moist bran muffin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
This recipe is terrific. A hearty, good-for-you muffin. I substitute 1/2 cup honey for the sugar and for the flour I use half white, half whole wheat. Then I toss in some chopped walnuts along with the raisins. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2011
Awesome! I used whole wheat, millet and oat flours in place of the all purpose flour. Left out the white sugar (with the raisins, plenty sweet enough for me) and used coconut oil in place of the vegetable shortening. Deep, Dark and Wholesome - love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Netsy3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mansfield, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
I love these wonderful moist muffins. Only change was that I substituted veg. oil for the shortening as that is what I had on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
Fast and easy. Found my new bran muffin recipe!! Added dates instead of raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joel's mom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2011
Wonderfully moist. I used brown sugar in place of white and added both pecans and currants
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
Really absolutely delicious muffins, so moist too. This will be a new staple recipe for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MIKEY
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
HOLY YUMTASTIC!!!! By far the best bran muffin I've ever had, will need to be buying bran by the truckload now haha. I actually omitted the sugar and oil, and added in a shredded apple to make up for it in terms of moistness. They were fantastically moist and tasty. Will make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Classic Bran Muffins

These muffins are full of fiber, yet are also moist and very tasty.

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

These muffins are so moist and flavorful, you won't believe they're healthy, too!

Toddler Muffins

Even finicky toddlers love these magical mini-muffins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States