Deep Chocolate Raspberry Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: May 13, 2006
My friends loved this cake. I used cherry filling and needed to use more cream for the icing to cover it. It is important not to overcook it as it started to get a bit crumbly and I took it out 10 minutes early. Nice recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kitchennut

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Château-D'œx, Vaud, Switzerland
Living In: Waynesboro, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2006
Tastes incredible! I'm a true novice of cooking and baking and this was so worth the time! I did take others advice and I took it out 10 minutes early and it was so nice and moist. I don't like the wax paper thing at the bottom- hard to take out-- I think I'd rather just put cooking spray. Also there is an error in the recipe. It says to mix the chocolate with the egg whites so I assumed ALL egg whites (because it doesn't say how much to use). I made that mistake and later realized there was more to do with the egg whites and sugar. I just added a 1/4 more and it worked fine. I used mixed berries w/ this and shaped it into a heart for Valentines day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2005
This cake was pretty awesome. A tad bitter for my taste, but anyone that likes chocolate would love this. I couldn't swallow it without milk. The baking time is too much. The batter is very thick and brownie like, and so I checked it every 5 mins after 25 mins of baking. A lot of people wrote that the cake was too crumbly. That might be because it was over baked, or maybe the eggs weren't beat enough. I had to beat my eggs by hand. Also, the filling was too little. 4oz is just not enough. I had 6 oz of raspberries. For every ounce of raspberry, i added .75 oz jam. If some people want the cake to be sweeter, strawberry would probably work. And the frosting. Some people said it was too thick, that might be because the cream was boiled too long. And if it was too liquidy, maybe it needed to cool more. My cake looked so pretty that I didn't feel like eating it. hehe. And as the title says, the cake IS very fudgy...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2005
I ended up having to go with strawberry, but wow was this good! It was my first time making a cake (I think) not using a cake mix, but I did okay!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2005
I made this cake for my birthday, it was quite time consuming but I enjoyed the moist fudgy texture so much. I would highly recommend to others, but be careful not to over bake it drys out quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sussex, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2004
A flat, dry, way too sweet brownie-like cake. Will not try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2004
This is one of my favorite cake recipes. The icing is fab and the cake it's self is yummy. I highly recomend it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily C.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Lenexa, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2004
This recipe was a huge hit at my boyfriend's birthday party. It is very decadent! For chocolate lovers only!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2004
My husband was in the kitchen and watched me prepare this dark chocolate cake for his Backyard Barbecue Birthday party, so he appreciated the extra preparation. Dark chocolate lovers really took a shine to it and came back for seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Galena Park, Texas, USA
Living In: Lott, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2004
Tasted good but looked awful. (My husband actually burst out laughing when he saw it thinking it was a joke) I had my mom make this for my birthday and I admit she doesn't give much thought of presentation but this wasn't her fault. She followed the recipe exactly and the cake turned out very dry, crumbly and impossible to frost. She ended up just pouring the frosting on top and letting it fall down the sides. Looked like a bad science project.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Chocolate Lava Cake

Make rich and impressive single-serving chocolate cakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States