Deep Chocolate Raspberry Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Photo by ctellifson
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
This was a fantastic, rich, gooey cake that had every chocolate lover happy. I made this cake for a friend's birthday and now everyone wants me to make their cakes from now on. Thanks for the recipe! DELICIOUS! **If you don't like dark chocolate, I would suggest using more of the semi-sweet to milk-chocolate squares instead. It was a little too rich for me, but everyone else loved it. Also, I used buttercream frosting instead of the frosting listed. It gave me more room for creativity and evened out the bitterness in the chocolate. For the raspberry filling, I cooked it with raspberry liquor, doubled the raspberries, raspberry preserves (seedless), and a little cornstarch to make it more of a gel. I filled the cake and then used the rest for the the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ctellifson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2007
I made this for my husband's birthday, he loved it. I used a lot more raspberries than in the recipe and I layered them in the middle. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gilbert, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2007
This cake was delicious. I over folded the egg whites into the batter (which is totally my fault, and often a problem I have), but it just made the cake come out really fudgy instead of fluffy. It was wonderful and no one realized I made a mistake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StephaneeRR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Stillwater, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2007
Just right for a chocolate fix. Addictly delightful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by speck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2007
This recipe was amazing! I made it for family and they all loved it. I didn't change a thing about it--it was VERY rich, just how I like it. If I were to change anything, I might add more raspberry filling next time, but it was great! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Amy
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2007
I made it for all the girls at my work and everyone loved it!! They all agreed if you don't like dark chocolate, you won't like this cake. More for the rest of us!! I took it out 10 minutes early so it was nice and moist, I also added more raspberries and preserves for the filling. Definitely will make it again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buxton, Maine, USA
Living In: Naples, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2007
This is an excellent recipe. That is given that you are not a working mom like me, because it took a loooooong time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2007
WONDERFUL!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cooktasticular

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2006
I'll admit, I did not use this cake recipe. I used "One Bowl Chocolate Cake III" recipe instead. I did use the raspberry filling and the frosting recipe though, and both of those went great with the One Bowl Chocolate Cake III that I made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Troy, New York, USA
Living In: Woodbridge, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2006
A little to thick for me. It was better the next day after it sat in the fridge overnight. I wouldn't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 115) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Chocolate Lava Cake

Make rich and impressive single-serving chocolate cakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States