Deep Chocolate Raspberry Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
It's toooo rich. Not too sweet, but too fat and too chocolaty. Otherwise it tastes fine. Also, it's not a "cake", it's more like a fudge. I made it and only one friend liked it, and he has always liked super sweet or super rich dessert. I also doubled the rapsberry filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
This cake is wonderful and fluffy. Once when I made it, I got a drop of yolk in the whites. At the time, I was newer to baking and figured it was okay. It's not. The whites won't fluff and the cake will be flat. Be careful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
so amazing. i love moist cake and this hit the spot. i could not stop eating it. i could eat it everday. the tartness of the raspberries combined with the cake's richness was heavenly. I had rasberries on the side for extra tartness, which I loved...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
Perfect for any chocolate lover! I doubled the filling, as recommended. It was a little crumbly, but this may have been due to overbaking. Would definitely make this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEEDGE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by fatneko
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2011
the icing is great, but the cake came out pretty dry. maybe 45min is too long...? tastes good, but we didn't like the texture, so we won't be making this again, except the icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fatneko

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2011
This is a great chocolatey cake but more like a torte. It needs to be eaten in small slices. The only problem I had in the making of it was the chocolate immediately seized as soon as I added the beaten yolks. The next time I made it I tried adding some of the chocolate to the yolks first then adding the yolks to the remaining chocolate and still it seized. I just continued beating it with the remaining items then folded in the egg whites which loosened it up so at least it did become loose enough to spread but it is more of a brownie consistancy than a cake batter consistancy. I put seedless raspberry jam in the center but made a chocolate dam around the edges of the cake to hold it in. I frosted it entirely in a different chocolate frosting (the recipe from the Hersheys Unsweetened Chocolate Cocoa can) I then garnished it with raspberries and chocolate curls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
This cake is really good. I made the filling first and put it in the fridge so it would not be to thin to spread, which worked out perfect. I also only cooked for 35mins, and it was perfectly moist. Super rich, make sure and cut small servings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SAMMIE6164

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
I made the cake exactly as specified. Then, I used raspberry preserves for the middle layer and chocolate frosting made with confectionery sugar (rather than frosting recipe given) to top. I thought the cake was good overall. The raspberry added a lot. The downside was this cake was crumbly and kind of dry/brownie like. It wasn't the moist cake-like consistency I was hoping for. I probably won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
I had trouble with the cake. It cracked and crumpled when I moved it. I don't know if I did something wrong or if there's a trick... but it was still good to take the pieces, dip it in the raspberry filling and chocolate icing (which is amazing). Tastes good, but I found it hard to work with...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dannieg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hamilton, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: May 29, 2011
Made this cake for my husband's birthday party. As a chocolate lover, I thought it was awesome! I didn't have wax paper so thought I could use oil and flour- def didn't work! Turned into more of a molten cake. I tore up the pieces, added the layer of raspberry mix, topped with rest of torn pieces. I also didn't have enough semisweet chocolate for the frosting. I melted some truffles. Omg, chocolate heaven! Very rich!!! Only need a SMALL piece to be fully satisfied.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Chocolate Lava Cake

Make rich and impressive single-serving chocolate cakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States