Deep Chocolate Raspberry Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 13, 2012
I'm only giving this recipe 2 stars. I made a lot of different changes myself to this recipe. It wasn't really completely bad, it just wasn't what I was looking for. First off, I saw some people complaining about the cake batter being thick... well, yes... I mean, you're working with chocolate ;) lol... I won't make the cake batter again though. The cake itself was tasty, but there was a weird hard shell around it when it cooled. If you like to decorate your cakes like I do, then this isn't the cake you want. The filling was just way to sweetly tart to care for. And chocolate makes raspberries more tart. I only used semi sweet choc, dont care for anything else! The icing was way too drippy to spread. After having it in the fridge for about an hour it was still gooey, so I made it into a chocolate buttercream... delish, probably the best part of the cake!! Well, besides my decoration ;) hahaa.. on that note... I probably won't make this cake again, just the frosting part.. but cootos to all of those that enjoyed it. My mom and sister loved it and it was for them, for mothers day today. I guess it was a success in that sense!!! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Greenfield Park, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kimbrly1006
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
Amazing cake!!! Really for dark chocolate lovers...so it was AMAZING to me! Definitely a keeper in the recipe box! I did add the filling to the top of the cake as well it looked beautiful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2012
I was disappointed with this recipe. The cake came out super dense, dry and the taste was very bland. It has similar consistency to a flourless chocolate cake. It also took a very long time to prepare. In the future I'll make the cake with a different recipe, but do the raspberry filling with the ganache-like frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
It's toooo rich. Not too sweet, but too fat and too chocolaty. Otherwise it tastes fine. Also, it's not a "cake", it's more like a fudge. I made it and only one friend liked it, and he has always liked super sweet or super rich dessert. I also doubled the rapsberry filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
This cake is wonderful and fluffy. Once when I made it, I got a drop of yolk in the whites. At the time, I was newer to baking and figured it was okay. It's not. The whites won't fluff and the cake will be flat. Be careful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
so amazing. i love moist cake and this hit the spot. i could not stop eating it. i could eat it everday. the tartness of the raspberries combined with the cake's richness was heavenly. I had rasberries on the side for extra tartness, which I loved...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
Perfect for any chocolate lover! I doubled the filling, as recommended. It was a little crumbly, but this may have been due to overbaking. Would definitely make this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEEDGE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by fatneko
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2011
the icing is great, but the cake came out pretty dry. maybe 45min is too long...? tastes good, but we didn't like the texture, so we won't be making this again, except the icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fatneko

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2011
This is a great chocolatey cake but more like a torte. It needs to be eaten in small slices. The only problem I had in the making of it was the chocolate immediately seized as soon as I added the beaten yolks. The next time I made it I tried adding some of the chocolate to the yolks first then adding the yolks to the remaining chocolate and still it seized. I just continued beating it with the remaining items then folded in the egg whites which loosened it up so at least it did become loose enough to spread but it is more of a brownie consistancy than a cake batter consistancy. I put seedless raspberry jam in the center but made a chocolate dam around the edges of the cake to hold it in. I frosted it entirely in a different chocolate frosting (the recipe from the Hersheys Unsweetened Chocolate Cocoa can) I then garnished it with raspberries and chocolate curls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
This cake is really good. I made the filling first and put it in the fridge so it would not be to thin to spread, which worked out perfect. I also only cooked for 35mins, and it was perfectly moist. Super rich, make sure and cut small servings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SAMMIE6164

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 115) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Chocolate Lava Cake

Make rich and impressive single-serving chocolate cakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States