Deep Chocolate Raspberry Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2003
This recipe does take more time than a typical cake, but was well worth the effort! It received rave reviews from tough critics. The cake was rich and moist with a very nice texture. I used valhrona bittersweet and sharfen berger for the unsweetend chocolate. I baked it the night prior to icing & filling. I doubled the raspberry filling (and used about 3/4 of the doubled amount). I would think the original amount would not be enough to get a true raspberry taste. When making the ganache I added about 2 TB of chambord at the end to enhance the raspberry flavor. After it had cooled, I spread a small amount of the icing on the cake center and didn't think it looked really elegant. I instead used it as a filling on top of the raspberry between the layers. I make the "Creamy Chocolate Frosting" from this site to cover the top and sides and it was excellent! I garnished with fresh raspberries. The cake was a big success and was tres yummy for a birthday party. Thanks Roz!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2003
THIS IS AMAZING! If you are looking for the most delicious cake in the world, stop right here. I made this for my high school graduation and it definitely eclipsed me as the main event. Worth every penny and every second. Delicious, beautiful. My entire family adored it and I'm sure I'll be making it in the future. I also used fresh raspberries, which I soaked in Grand Marnier overnight. Consider upping the amount of filling, but superb the way it is. I wish I could give it more stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2003
A really great, rich chocolate cake! I made it without the raspberries as a one-layer 9x13 cake, and it was excellent this way, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2003
So rich and fudgey! I love this ganache, too--I use it for frosting a lot of other cakes, sometimes I whip it, sometimes I just pour it on. Take the time to use a quality chocolate like Guittard or Ghiradelli and you'll really be nicely rewarded.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alliance, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2003
I normally follow the recipe exactly the first time through but this time I was having company and I wanted it to be beautiful. I not only doubled the raspberry filling, but I cooked the berries on top of the stove with sugar, cornstarch and a raspberry liqeuer. This way the cake presented well and didn't get soggy with berry juice. Good cake Roz.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
93 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by vegigrl
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2003
Excelent cake. Went over very well with everyone at work. My only suggestion would be to add more raspberries for the filling. I followed the filling recipe exactly and didn't end up with a lot of raspberry flavor. Next time I am adding more frozen raspberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: Bloomington, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2003
This was so dry! I was so dissapointed. Granted, I do not bake cakes often, but I tried this one for a special occasion and we ate 2 slices and I decided the rest wasnt worth the calories and threw it out! I followed the recipe exactly, I just thought it was very dry and not that tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2003
FANTASTIC! Yummy moist simply HEAVEN! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2003
Ohmigosh! Served this for Valentine's Day to my sweetie, and he fell even deeper in love with me! It was beautiful! I used fresh raspberries for the filling, and added a more preserves. I used fresh raspberries on the edge of the cake and it was a knockout! Had enough for 5 guests two nights later. I made some whipped cream to top it off and it was even BETTER! It was WORTH the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Texasglori

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dearborn, Michigan, USA
Living In: Fort Richardson, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2003
Cake is excellent and worth the effort to make. Very rich and chocolatey. I increased amount of raspberry filling - thought it should have more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Chocolate Lava Cake

Make rich and impressive single-serving chocolate cakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States