Deep Chocolate Raspberry Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2014
I baked the cake itself as directed, but I followed the advice of other posters who suggested making a more stable raspberry filling using cornstarch. I did not realize the cake layers weren't quite cool when I began trimming them to stack more neatly. AS a result, the cake pretty much fell apart. Instead of serving layer cake, I turned it into a chocolate raspberry trifle. The cake was still warm, though, so it sort of melded into a rich pudding. It was delicious, whatever it turned out to be!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
This is an extremely dense "cake". I actually had a comment that they weren't sure if they were eating fudge or cake. There is definitely no pouring the batter into cake pans or folding egg whites in. I actually had to push the batter into the pan to fill it. The filling and frosting need to be doubled. Not nearly enough of either. I ended up mixing the frosting with a batch of butter cream to minimize the dark chocolate flavor (the cake is already very dark chocolatey) and make enough to adequately cover the cake. A lot of people liked the flavor of the cake, but the texture leaves a lot to be desired. Probably won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2013
Very disappointing. I had such high hopes for this recipe considering all the chocolate, cream and fruit. After making the cakes and taking them out of the pan, one of them crumbled into a mess. Too bad since I was making it for a church fund raiser. I guess I will have to get a store bought one :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Don

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
I followed the recipe and instruction exactly, except I used fresh raspberry for the filling. No professional reason. My store was out of frozen raspberry. The cake came out dense and moist. It turned out not too sweet, very elegant chocolate cake. I'd say use very good quality chocolate. A small piece satisfying me. It takes a little work, but definitely worth it. I would save this recipe for special occasion like someone's birthday or anniversary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kobe, Hyogo, Japan
Living In: Highland, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
The cake turns out more like a brownie consistency but I loved it :) I made it for a friend's birthday and people adored the cake. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jessica Shea
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
This was the richest cake I ever made! It was LOVED by my family but it took hours and many mixing dishes. I would have given it 5 stars but there should have been a better option/directions on making a raspberry filling from scratch. I also only baked it for 30 mins based on comments and the cake layers were perfect! The icing was super runny- I just dumped it on. It looked great anyway flowing all over and around the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2012
We LOVED it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2012
I'm only giving this recipe 2 stars. I made a lot of different changes myself to this recipe. It wasn't really completely bad, it just wasn't what I was looking for. First off, I saw some people complaining about the cake batter being thick... well, yes... I mean, you're working with chocolate ;) lol... I won't make the cake batter again though. The cake itself was tasty, but there was a weird hard shell around it when it cooled. If you like to decorate your cakes like I do, then this isn't the cake you want. The filling was just way to sweetly tart to care for. And chocolate makes raspberries more tart. I only used semi sweet choc, dont care for anything else! The icing was way too drippy to spread. After having it in the fridge for about an hour it was still gooey, so I made it into a chocolate buttercream... delish, probably the best part of the cake!! Well, besides my decoration ;) hahaa.. on that note... I probably won't make this cake again, just the frosting part.. but cootos to all of those that enjoyed it. My mom and sister loved it and it was for them, for mothers day today. I guess it was a success in that sense!!! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Greenfield Park, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kimbrly1006
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
Amazing cake!!! Really for dark chocolate lovers...so it was AMAZING to me! Definitely a keeper in the recipe box! I did add the filling to the top of the cake as well it looked beautiful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2012
I was disappointed with this recipe. The cake came out super dense, dry and the taste was very bland. It has similar consistency to a flourless chocolate cake. It also took a very long time to prepare. In the future I'll make the cake with a different recipe, but do the raspberry filling with the ganache-like frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Chocolate Lava Cake

Make rich and impressive single-serving chocolate cakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States